We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent Experience at Cafe 21 on Adams Avenue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe 21

Cafe 21
Ranked #213 of 4,561 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Idaho
Description: Cafe21 is a full service eatery - try our always savory, homemade dishes created with fresh, organic produce from local farms. Or cool down after a long day with our farm-to-bar, refreshing infused drinks made with organic vodka. We provide our home made bread sandwiches, fresh organic salads, hearty breakfasts, and wide selection of organic coffees, teas, and much more. Our heart and soul is invested into creating the most satisfying dishes from the finest ingredients straight from the earth. Stop by and taste what Mother Nature is stirring in our kitchen.
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience at Cafe 21 on Adams Avenue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

My wife choose to celebrate our 46th wedding anniversary at Cafe 21 on Adams Avenue today, which was a wonderful choice. We found this quaint Mediterranean restaurant to have great food, very courteous and efficient service and a wonderful atmosphere. The food is uniquely prepared, served nicely and very flavorful and savory. The service is terrific and extremely courteous and the menu is very eclectic and varies daily with very nice wine listongs and a full selection of teas.
This is a restaurant that we will continue to eat at and I would suggest that you give Cafe 21 a try.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kent H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    69
    12
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Catania, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic foods and cocktails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I went to this place with a local and was highly recommended... this place stays packed with business among other places right next to it... I was surprised the staff was full of energy (host carried around some display cocktails like a show) and they were also helpful with picking the food... all the dishes I saw looked awesome and well displayed. I had the Turkish Lavish Rolls and my friend had the Strawberry? salad... not sure the name but great eats all around... highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Koronakidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
84 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Hidden local find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

This cafe is the last place you would expect to find in a small lot next to a liquor store. Great food, I go frequently for lunch.So glad to work near here.Great breakfast and lunch items.Only ate here once for dinner. Everything is wonderful.The service is good, very attentive and they know the menu items well. All are a treat as it is homemade.The sandwiches and salads are a must try. Love the infusion teas.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MaryAnnLens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
194 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Nice, unique and good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Had a business dinner here and the food, service and menu was really good. Tried the sangria flight and enjoyed the variety of wines. Unique food was quite enjoyable.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dkissel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Meh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I was excited to come here for the sangria and the organic food, based on reviews read here and on yelp. The service was slow - took over an hour to get our food. We were told the kitchen was backed up because of some large groups (I only saw one). We tried many of the sangrias and they weren't that great. The food was fine - I wouldn't say it was exceptional but it was good. Definitely not worth the wait. We did get a free dessert because of the long wait for our food. This restaurant has potential but it needs to make improvements in service and food before I come back here again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Portland_visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe 21 also viewed

 
San Diego, CA
San Diego, CA
 

Been to Cafe 21? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing