We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flunks on cleanliness, great on everything else.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Diego North Miramar
Ranked #154 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 2, 2007

Our hotel room and bathroom were among the filthiest I've ever experienced. There were crumbs and a chocolate stain on our sheets, revealing they hadn't changed the sheets after the previous occupant! Yuck. Given that we didn't discover this until late at night after we were all settled in, we asked for new sheets and pillow cases, and made the bed ourselves. In addition, the bathroom floor had dirt caked on it and was in serious need of mopping.

Normally, I would never even consider staying in such a place again, however, this hotel excelled in many other areas, listed below. Thus I would pull up again and examine a room prior to checking in. I'm hoping the filthy room was the aberration of one neglectful housekeeper and not refective of the hotel.

Here's what we liked:
* Very reasonable cost for a major metropolitan area: $119 special price, which included free parking.
* Very helpful, friendly staff.
* New, very comfortable pillowtop bed.
* Very quiet room, even though the hotel is right off the freeway.
* Refrigerator (next size up from the smallest) and microwave in every room.
* Thermostat where you can set the temperature, as opposed to just cool or warm.
* Shower temperature easy to regulate + massaging showerhead.
* Nice, unclutter layout where my partner had room to practice his tai chi.
* Elliptical trainer in fitness room.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank groovyvegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 145 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2007

hotel stay was mar,24-27 2007 let us check in early.here for nascar race in fontana,,.suite was nice for the days that we were here but the fridge was not as cold as it should be. called downstairs and was told that i could bring my drinks downstairs [pop,water,juice] and put in their fridge.i declined and said thank you for the offer.came back from the race late on sunday 10pm,and the front door was not completely shut [locked].i went downstairs and told them and they said they would send security with me and check the room out.my wife and myself checked it out before i went down to the front desk.they said that they were very sorry and it would not happen again,she said she would notify housekeeping of what had happened.she called my room about an hour later and said how sorry she was about what had happened. i thought that that was very awesome of her too call back at a later time a say she was sorry for what had happened.i told her that i will be back in sept. and said thank you. thumbs up too her

Stayed: March 2007
1  Thank adultrunaways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2006

I checked in on Sept. 29, 2006. The room was sparten, the refriderator did not work, and the tv was old with a poor quality picture. If that wasn't bad enough, while trying to open the Heat/AC vent in the bathroom, the grill pulled out of the wall and the inside of the ventalation shaft was completely covered with Black Mold!, some of which fell onto the floor(I have pictures). Almost an inch thick! Needless to say my wife and I got out of there rather quickly. I have contacted their corporate customer care via e-mail(the Only way to contact them) and have still not heard back from them(10/4/06)

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bickyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2006

My husband, myself, and 13 y.o. daughter stayed here over a busy weekend in July '06. The hotel was filled to capacity (as were just about every other hotel in the area) because of several large athletic competitions that were going on that weekend. The hotel really took advantage of this fact and jacked the price up to $209/ night (not the "average" price of $139 listed on this site). Although I had made the reservation just the night before, they managed to get it wrong - and sent us to a room with only one bed - not the two we had been promised. However, the young woman at the desk (Russian, I believe) was very helpful & apologetic, and even offered to take $50 off the bill for our trouble...and quickly gave us a different room.
The room itself was all right, as was the bathroom - what you'd expect from a Holiday Inn - not super fancy, but clean and adequate. However, the overall feel of the hotel and breakfast room is a bit dated. Also, the location is kind of drab - wih a view of the parking lot & freeway. The pool area was small and not very attractive, and so crowded that night with screaming kids, that our idea of sitting there peacefully was immediately vetoed. The included breakfat wasn't too bad - my husband liked the oatmeal - but again, the room felt small & a bit shabby.
The most distressing aspect of our stay was the steady stream of ants crawling over the desk in our room. We didn't complain because at that point I knew there were no other rooms available - but I mentioned it in the comment card I left at the desk when we checked out - but never heard from anyone (card is probably sitting in the trash somewhere!)
In short, an okay place - but nothing special - and definitely overpriced at $209 (for $139 I would say it would be acceptable).

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank nankie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Los Angeles, Ca
210
Reviewed May 17, 2006

My husband and I often visit San Diego and took a chance by staying at this hotel which is farther away from the tourist trap in San Diego....but we will not make that mistake again. In my opnion, this hotel is perfect for the business traveler but not if you have a family or plan to experience San Diego. It is located far from attractions, restaurants, and shopping. The Holiday Inn located on Hotel Circle is a much better choice.

As for quality, if you like Holiday Inn, you will like this hotel. But be warned that there are no good views, its located off of the busy freeway and worse, right in line with the flight path of the nearby small airport. Not very peaceful!

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2006

From the shuttle drivers (who will take you anywhere within 5 miles for free) to the front desk to the breakfast buffet staff, there couldn't have been a more friendly and welcoming atmosphere. I appreciated the elaborate as possible continental breakfast with the hostess so happy to accomodate. The pool and hot tub were great. My room was clean and well equipped and the bathroom was very large. Internet access down in the lobby is free. The Chinese restaurant attached was delicious. An all around great choice for the area. They understand the concept of customer service.

  • Stayed: May 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lizinindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2006

I traveled to San Diego with three kids, one spouse and my parents. We stayed in a suite for $119 a night. I am a cheap traveler so it sounded too good to be true, and I was very pleased to find out that it was all true. It was an excellent hotel, very clean, nice staff and a good continental breakfast. The bathroom was the best part of all with the curved shower curtain and an awesome shower head. It was too cold for swimming but we spent a little time in the hot tub, which was lukewarm, but the sauna made up for it.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank threets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mira Mesa
Holiday Inn Express Mira Mesa
#190 of 278 in San Diego
109 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western San Diego/Miramar Hotel
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn San Diego Miramar
Quality Inn San Diego Miramar
#184 of 278 in San Diego
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites San Diego Miramar
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley
3.1 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Diego North Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Diego North Miramar

Address: 9335 Kearny Mesa Road, San Diego, CA 92126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Miramar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $152 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn San Diego North Miramar 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the 2007 Torchbearer Award for Service Excellence and the 2008 Quality Award, the Holiday Inn San Diego North Miramar offers excellent accommodations and an attentive staff.We make traveling for business easy & convenient w/shuttle service to & from the airport (for a nominal fuel surcharge) and complimentary shuttle to companies w/in 5 miles.With complimentary high-speed wireless Internet throughout the hotel, you can easily get your work done or check in with the family. Didn t bring your laptop? Our business center offers all your computer needs. Located in the heart of the Miramar, Mira Mesa, Kearny Mesa, & Scripps/Poway areas, we re close to many companies and organizations including MCAS Miramar, Alliant University, San Diego Sol, Northrop Grumman, MedImpact, Mitchell, Koch, Qualcomm, CACI, Caterpillar, CSC, EDS, GE, Hitachi, & Intuit.Our flexible event space will accommodate 10-150 attendees. Join us in the lounge Mon-Thurs for happy-hour from 5-7 PM.Our 155 well-appointed guestrooms feature two phone lines with data-ports, speakerphones, high-speed wireless Internet, refrigerator, microwave, & coffee maker. The hotel also offers an outdoor heated pool, whirlpool, sauna and fitness room. Laundry facility available on property. Join us at our new restaurant Spiral Cafe & Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn San Diego North Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Diego North Miramar Hotel San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing