We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn San Diego North Miramar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn San Diego North Miramar
Ranked #159 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
calgary
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

We recently visited San Diego and stayed at the Holiday Inn North Miramar and loved it. The hotel was clean and tidy, the hotel staff were beyond nice and helpful. The location is quiet but still very close to important tourist places. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rattat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    55
    22
    8
    5
See reviews for
31
20
10
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2011

I went to San Diego for a conference and stayed in this Holiday Inn hotel. The front desk service team was always very friendly and helpful. I stayed on a special rate due to the conference, this rate also included breakfast. The breakfast buffet was great! (for people without a coupon, breakfast costs 9.99$) Coffee or tea to go after breakfast was included too.
I had a king size, non-smoking room, which was big and clean. It had a microwave, fridge, coffee maker, TV, and hair dryer. The bathroom was big and clean.

The hotel has a gym (treatmill, elyptical) and a pool as well as jacuzzi. everything was clean and nice.

The hotel offers a free shuttle to a mall which is 15min away by car. This mall is big and has great shops! Definitely worth to visit!

The only con of the hotel was its location. San Diego downtown was 25-30 min away by car. When we took a cab from the airport to the hotel, we spend over 50$. We ended up renting a car to get our way around. The hotel is in a commercial area, so there were plenty gas stations but limited amount of restaurants. The chinese restaurant right besides the hotel wasn't very recommendable. The food was greasy and the waitress did not listen to my requests in my order.

All in all, a great hotel. Recommendable!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2010

If your looking for comfortable beds, good local, and reasonable cost this is your hotel. Wireless is free, staff is freindly. Other reviews complain about no free breakfast, so what it's only ten bucks and it's hot with an excellent selection of breakfast foods. The only downside to this property is the water pressure in the shower a little on the trickle side. I stay here because you are twenty minutes from everywhere.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SDFAN080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, PA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2010

Booked this hotel without knowing what it was (got it off of hot wire for a great deal). Was extremely pleased with everything about it. I should not have complained about the 'no free breakast,' because it told me right on hot wire that complimentary breakfast was not included. We were going to partake in breakfast (that you had to pay for), but we must've gotten down to the eating area too late, because they were cleaning up. We ended up going to a great diner, Keith's, across the street, so no biggie. The hotel staff was extremely friendly/helpful/kind, and the fact that there was free wine and tap beer for guests during happy hour was sweet! Would definitely come back to this place!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hap64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Hills, CA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2009

Typical Holiday Inn in a convenient location just off the freeway. The card keys wouldn't work when we first arrived, which was very irritating for someone coming off a long drive (I had to use the bathroom!), but the room was nice enough, and the staff was helpful enough (they fixed the key problem in about a half-hour). The in-room fridge wouldn't get cold, but the ice machine near the lobby worked fine. The biggest bummer was not getting breakfast with the room price. Seriously - shouldn't all hotels do this nowadays? Shouldn't they be trying to entice more customers during these lean times rather than cutting services? I'm not looking for anything fancy, just a simple, convenient, continental breakfast that you can grab as you head out to your next destination. I don't want a breakfast buffet and I don't want to pay $10 per person. Luckily, there's a Carl's Jr. across the street.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CheapThrills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2009

Bio:
Platinum with Marriott, Holiday Inn. Diamond with Hilton. Gold with Starwood. Average 150 nights a year. Worst year: 332 nights.

This Holiday Inn is a full service property located about 15 minuutes from the San Diego Airport. It is a V Shaped layout and is surrounded by gas stations and a Carl's Jr. Upon arrival, I had a plate with an apple, a banana, crackers with peanut butter, Andes mints, and 2 bottles of water waiting in my room. Very nice touch for Priority Club guests. There is also a nightly Happy Hour in the lobby with free beverages.

The young lady at the front desk made smiley small talk with me at check-in. There was also a bell man, although I declined his services. The lobby is inviting, and the restaurant open until 10pm. PC Local amenities included a Free Movie coupon and a 10% off restaurant coupon. All of the staff were great.

The room rocked - although it was an off zig zag floorplan. Upon entry, I had a micro-kitchen: dorm fridge, microwave, 2 burner electric range (with range hood!), and a sink. Then, the next room had a 2 person round table and chairs, a desk, a gold-colored couch, TV in armoire and an arm chair. The next room (you walk through the vanity area to get to the bedroom) was the bedroom, with a (you guessed it!) bed, and tube-tv filled armoire. The windows open slightly - enough to get fresh air. Upon inspection, the air filter was clean (maybe 10 days worth of dirt). The bedding was clean and comfortable. 2 firm pillows, 2 soft pillows.

The restaurant, Spiral, is located off of the lobby, and appears attractive. It has typical HI-restaurant food. The fitness center had a recumbent bike, stair stepper, a treadmill, a sauna, and an elliptical. The fitness center is cramped, and people walk through it en route to the outdoor jacuzzi area.

The room, including bathroom, was immaculate. The towels were thick, and only mildly abrasive. Water took awhile at 4am to get hot, though water pressure is good. The ironing board is thinly padded, but it is well constructed and sturdy. The Sunbeam iron had been drained and had minimal mineral deposits.

Internet access was disappointingly slow. This is the only negative comment I have about this property.

Air Filter factor: 8.5/10
Internet Speed: 3/10 (SLOW wireless: 287Kbps downstream, 127Kbps upstream)
Location: 7/10
Friendliness of Staff: 10/10
Restaurant: 8/10 (quality HI restaurant)
Checkin/Checkout: 10/10
Parking: 9/10
Bedding: 9/10
Furnishings: 9/10
Fitness Ctr: 7/10 (tired, but functional Life Fitness equipment)
Free Liquor Opportunities: 10/10 (happy hour every 5-7 in Spiral!)
Iron and Ironing Board: 8/10 (thinly padded, no mineral deposits)

Definitely recommend this property - it's very comortable, and the staff are great. It is a great value - especially for this market.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThePlatinumOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2009

The room was very clean which is always top priority. The hotel was quiet and the staff was nice although we didn't need anything so I can't say how the service would have been in that aspect. The price was a good value for the room and the bed was pretty comfortable and even though the view wasn't much, the window let in lots of light so I wasn't really bothered. The only thing I was disappointed with was the continental breakfast because it wasn't free and there weren't many options for the price they charged. With as nice as the hotel was, it would be great if they served a complimentary breakfast as well. Overall it was a very good experience and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank celia_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites San Diego Miramar
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mira Mesa
Holiday Inn Express Mira Mesa
#186 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
3.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN San Diego/Miramar Hotel
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn San Diego Miramar
Quality Inn San Diego Miramar
#182 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
3.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites San Diego - Sorrento Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Diego North Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Diego North Miramar

Property: Holiday Inn San Diego North Miramar
Address: 9335 Kearny Mesa Road, San Diego, CA 92126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Miramar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn San Diego North Miramar 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the 2007 Torchbearer Award for Service Excellence and the 2008 Quality Award, the Holiday Inn San Diego North Miramar offers excellent accommodations and an attentive staff.We make traveling for business easy & convenient w/shuttle service to & from the airport (for a nominal fuel surcharge) and complimentary shuttle to companies w/in 5 miles.With complimentary high-speed wireless Internet throughout the hotel, you can easily get your work done or check in with the family. Didn t bring your laptop? Our business center offers all your computer needs. Located in the heart of the Miramar, Mira Mesa, Kearny Mesa, & Scripps/Poway areas, we re close to many companies and organizations including MCAS Miramar, Alliant University, San Diego Sol, Northrop Grumman, MedImpact, Mitchell, Koch, Qualcomm, CACI, Caterpillar, CSC, EDS, GE, Hitachi, & Intuit.Our flexible event space will accommodate 10-150 attendees. Join us in the lounge Mon-Thurs for happy-hour from 5-7 PM.Our 155 well-appointed guestrooms feature two phone lines with data-ports, speakerphones, high-speed wireless Internet, refrigerator, microwave, & coffee maker. The hotel also offers an outdoor heated pool, whirlpool, sauna and fitness room. Laundry facility available on property. Join us at our new restaurant Spiral Cafe & Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG and Orbitz so you can book your Holiday Inn San Diego North Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Diego North Miramar Hotel San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing