We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:15 AM - 7:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience Torrey Pines State Natural Reserve
Reviews (3,762)
Filter reviews
3,762 results
Traveler rating
2,932
689
115
15
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,932
689
115
15
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach trail great hike guy fleming trail bring water visitor center del mar beautiful scenery free parking beautiful area the san diego area cliffs ocean hiked hikers nature paths pacific
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
99 - 104 of 3,762 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2019

Beautiful trails, , easy to moderate skill level. We were with two 13 year olds who did the hike with ease. Stunning views of the cost and really cool rock formations and desert type landscape. We spent 2 hours there which was plenty of time. I do recommend arriving early as it does get busy, but so worth it!!! We had no trouble with parking in October.

Date of experience: October 2019
1  Thank hstadtherr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2019

My husband and I love this area because it is so expansive...you can walk on the beach for hours or on the cliffs through grass and around rock formations and trees taking different paths for hours.The panoramic view from above the beach is wonderful. However, you do have to be cautious. The last time we were there we did see a baby rattlesnake slithering across our path. They are the most venomous.I always wear boots and long pants when walking through the grass there and wear flip flops on the beach, since there are small bees, ticks, jelly fish parts and other stinging things in the sand.That said, it can still be a relaxing, wonderful adventure if you are prepared for everything.Don't forget to wear sunscreen and a hat if you have fair skin and hair.

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank Cheri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2019 via mobile

We really enjoyed our walk in Torrey Pines state park, there is lo of parking, I love walking on the beach

Date of experience: April 2019
2  Thank 970joant
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2019 via mobile

Lots of choices of well maintained trails that lead down towards the water. Views and photo opportunities abound. Please stay on the trails as the erosion is visible. Moderate difficulty in places. 60-90 minutes round trip.

Date of experience: October 2019
1  Thank ReefWatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2019 via mobile

Sunday morning was VERY busy, parking in the lot at the bottom of the hill is $20 if there’s room, but there was no room by noon. We parked about a mile away since there was no room near the coast so with that, the hike up the hill, then the long loop to get to the beach, it was a few hours, almost 8 miles total, lots of stairs (not good for bad knees and hips). The plan was to get down to the beach but the high tide was in so couldn’t get to the beach safely. Wear sunscreen! Bring water! You’ll probably need a bottle refill from the water stations before walking back down and it’s warm-ish water. If you want cold water you’re out of luck unless you bring your own. Great views, great scenery from the trails. Grab a map so you know if you want to turn around or get back to the road!

Date of experience: October 2019
2  Thank 939beccieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews