We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views, plentiful hiking trails through gorgeous terrain” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Torrey Pines State Reserve

Torrey Pines State Reserve
Coast Highway 101, San Diego, CA 92037
858 755 2063
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$90*
and up
Private San Diego Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #4 of 371 things to do in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Although this park is located within San Diego's city limits, it remains one of the wildest landscapes along the Southern California coast, with miles of unspoiled beaches, chaparral, elegant Torrey Pine trees and a lagoon vital to many species of migrating birds.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
179 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Amazing views, plentiful hiking trails through gorgeous terrain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

I love hiking at Torrey Pines, there are plenty of challenging and not-so-challenging hikes that all have gorgeous ocean views, a welcome breeze, and interesting terrain.

You can park for free along coast highway and hike up the park road or along the beach to access the trail heading up into the park, if you don't mind adding the additional distance to your hike.

My favorite view is coming down the South Fork Trail to the Broken Hill Trail - the broken hills are amazing and you come upon them from such a great viewpoint. This trail also takes you all the way down to the beach and you can head back up along the Beach Trail or Yucca Point trail. Starting at the far end of the park avoids much of the crowds, too!

For less elevation gain, the Guy Fleming trail is gorgeous (I love this part of the park - amazing terrain and great views and it's pretty short!). The Razor Point trail and Parry Grove trails are worth it, too.

You can't go wrong at Torrey Pines if your looking for some amazing hikes along the coast.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MyCuppaJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Gorgeous hiking and views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

An amazing oasis in Southern California full of tall trees and ocean views. You can hike tree lined paths or walk down to the beach. One of the prettiest places ever.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“San Diego North Run - perfect 8 miles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We have friends that own a home in Del Mar. We love visiting their home since its a short run to the Torrey Pines park. We enter on the north side nearest Del Mar and run up the winding hill to the top where the views are the definition of breathless. Its difficult not to stop and take it all in. There are many off-the-main-path routes which add singular, private ways to enjoy the open spaces and views of the Pacific below. We snake our run through to the south side which ends up near famous Salk Institute and U of San Diego. We make a U-turn and then head back to Del Mar (downhill) to enjoy the aromas of lavender, pine, and cedar along the way. It's one of my favorite runs in the world.
Total distance is about 8 miles.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ocean88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great park, but no picnic except at ocean beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We went for a hike to the ocean. Great park and well maintained. Enjoyed the views and terrain - walk to the ocean if you have a couple of hours to spend and see the beach. Interestingly, we couldn't eat our picnic lunch unless we went to the beach. Also of note, found a clothing optional beach to the south when walking along the ocean - FYI so you are aware.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank TWDG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“surprising”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We chose the'Beach trail' for our 2h hiking. It's really amazing to see how the rocks,cliffs,sea,beach combined. A mustpay visit in SD!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Xuanchi Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Torrey Pines State Reserve also viewed

 

Been to Torrey Pines State Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing