We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“surprising” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Torrey Pines State Natural Reserve

Torrey Pines State Natural Reserve
Book In Advance
$90.00*
and up
Private San Diego Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #5 of 423 things to do in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Although this park is located within San Diego's city limits, it remains one of the wildest landscapes along the Southern California coast, with miles of unspoiled beaches, chaparral, elegant Torrey Pine trees and a lagoon vital to many species of migrating birds.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“surprising”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

We chose the'Beach trail' for our 2h hiking. It's really amazing to see how the rocks,cliffs,sea,beach combined. A mustpay visit in SD!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank xuanchiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,649 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,023
    526
    83
    10
    7
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
204 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Unique Landscape”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

Fun two mile hike without much elevation change. Unique terrain and vegetation. Easy access from the Lodge at Torrey Pines.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank BBSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Lovely for walks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

Easy walks great vistas of the ocean and cliffs. Lots of folks out and seeing dogs and families was fun.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank IrishGermanSwedish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

we drove to the park and hiked a few trails before finishing with the beach trail which ended at the beautiful expansive beach! we then were able to walk back to the parking lot via the beach, cooling off with our feet in the water. there are beautiful views from up on the hiking trails. Trails are easy to hike, you just have to watch your footing.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Zurich, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
68 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good, could be great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

This is a very nice trail, which could be enhanced lot more to give a great experience to the Hikers.
There are many trails routes but many are not marked. It not easy to get lost but you may miss out on some.
Of course it is a jungle, you should expect wild life, Snakes etc. at the entrance they should inform the enterant, how to deal with them.
They have a small parking at the base, thus they tell first timers to go up to the half point and park there. When you drive up, you just lost half the hike.
I did not see a nice trail to hike from the base, many people were biking, jogging next to the road.
The other side of the cliff, is the sea. That makes the view great but it takes away from the beach. The shore line is not so great, for which i am not sure what anyone can do. But by adding couple of dollars to the entrance fee, they can use the money to mark the trails better and enhance the hiker experience.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank PrempalSingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Torrey Pines State Natural Reserve also viewed

 

Been to Torrey Pines State Natural Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing