We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Beautiful Park” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Torrey Pines State Natural Reserve

Torrey Pines State Natural Reserve
Book In Advance
$90.00*
and up
Private San Diego Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #5 of 423 things to do in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Although this park is located within San Diego's city limits, it remains one of the wildest landscapes along the Southern California coast, with miles of unspoiled beaches, chaparral, elegant Torrey Pine trees and a lagoon vital to many species of migrating birds.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We hiked from the parking lot to the beach. I highly recommend it for anyone in decent physical condition. Substantial elevation change down to the beach and then a reasonably difficult hike back up.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank chuckstertx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,649 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,023
    526
    83
    10
    7
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ideal Place for Hiking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The reserve is a great place to hike, because of the established trails, and the spectacular view of the sea. The cool San Diego climate makes it an ideal place to have a leisurely walk or a jog, passing through several plant species including the Torrey pines. A sidetrip to the golf course, where Tiger Woods claimed several victories, is another added attraction.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank sabiojames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyne City, Michigan
Level Contributor
139 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Commanding views from the bluffs overlooking the Pacific Ocean, the opportunity to see seal and cormorant colonies close up and a beautiful coastal drive make Torrey Pines State Reserve a must on any vacation!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place for a hike...even if you're not a hiker”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

FANTASTIC views of the Pacific Ocean! We started off by parking near the visitors center, then hiking down to the water. We exercise regularly but are not hikers by any means. It was a strenuous walk, but by no means not enjoyable. One of our favorite places that we went to in the San Diego area on this trip.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JoAnne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely worth a stop.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

A trip to Torrey Pines is a great way to get acclimated on arrival to La Jolla. I came from the East coast and as soon as I saw the views here I knew I was in California! Just beautiful!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SparklingLuxury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Torrey Pines State Natural Reserve also viewed

 

Been to Torrey Pines State Natural Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing