We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“once a week trip”

Torrey Pines State Natural Reserve
Book In Advance
More Info
$90.00*
and up
Private San Diego Sightseeing Tour
More Info
$175.00*
and up
Biplane Coastal Tour
More Info
$449.00*
and up
Formation Biplane Coastal Tour
Ranked #5 of 438 things to do in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Although this park is located within San Diego's city limits, it remains one of the wildest landscapes along the Southern California coast, with miles of unspoiled beaches, chaparral, elegant Torrey Pine trees and a lagoon vital to many species of migrating birds.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
San Diego, California, USA
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“once a week trip”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The scenery is amazing . A must see place when you visit San Diego. The hiking trails are very organized and many to choose from. You can make it hard or easy hike. Also at the end you can reward yourselfwith drinks at The Lodge.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kukisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,077 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,373
    588
    95
    13
    8
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“delightful beach”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This beach reminded me of beaches of my childhood, seaweed around and sand crabs to dig up and explore; just a natural environment. There is parking close by and the walk to the water is short, there are amazing cliffs with delightful hikes and views to take advantage of. Parking was $10 for the day. Clean bathrooms, with outdoor showers, and several lifeguard stands to watch over. It wasn't crowded on a sunny July day - relaxing for sure.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank zipda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menifee, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“My favorite beach in San Diego”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This beach has everything you need in a beach, plenty of parking which they charge for but the money helps keep the beach running. There are restrooms and a shower as well. The beach itself changes with the tides and can get cramped when the tide is in. We typically park near the restrooms, go under the bridge and head north of the inlet.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Pretty but confusing for a first-timer”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We've been to San Diego literally dozens of times bit had never been to Torrey Pines before. We had a hard time finding the north lot versus the south parking lot, as they are not clearly marked. We were also surprised that after paying $15 to park, we were not given a map. The trail map on the website isn't the best so we weren't sure if all the trails were close enough to walk to or if we should drive into the park further and park the car by the trail head. We ended up parking at the south beach lot and started walking the steep grade towards the trails. We ended up at the Guy Fleming Trail. It was a nice, easy trail with beautiful views of the beach and the coast. It made us want more but we were getting hungry and decided to go back to the car and eat lunch before driving back into the park and finding another trail to continue hiking. After lunch, we noticed that the rangers closed the park access road to cars. So then our only option was to hike back up the steep grade instead of driving and then walk even further to the other trails. Since we're not in great cardio shape, we decided against it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachesinaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Beautiful hike!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We enjoyed this beautiful hike! We didn't have time to do the full hike, but we spent an hour hiking to the Red Butt area (great views), then took the beach hike down.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank bkdj96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Torrey Pines State Natural Reserve also viewed

 

Been to Torrey Pines State Natural Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing