We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mira Mesa Thai Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Siam Nara Thai Cuisine

Siam Nara Thai Cuisine
Ranked #771 of 4,567 Restaurants in San Diego
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Mira Mesa Thai Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The ambiance, staff, & food (not in any order) make this Thai restaurant a great place to visit. This place is associated with Amarin in Hillcrest so you know this place serves food that will not disappoint your taste buds. The last time here, I normally order, on a scale of Thai hot, a 5 but asked for a 7 with spices on the side. I didn't need the spices on the side since the 7 was clearly hot enough. I normally order green curry with chicken while the wife orders pad see yu, but we have gone off our normal course here since we need to expand our Thai taste buds, since all of the food here is great. They also have a huge selection of wines. This restaurant is slowly becoming my #1 Thai restaurant in San Diego. It definitely will not disappoint if you love Thai food......

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sofital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    17
    6
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Not bad, pretty good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

I never knew this place existed until our kids told us about it. It's in a strip mall and somewhat hidden.

I ordered the crab fried rice and pad thai. Both was excellent. Desserts are all awesome. Creme Brûlée the best. Love the sticky rice :)

I previously ordered the garlic salmon fried rice and that also is one of my favorites but don't let the picture fool you. The salmon doesn't come in big chunks. It's somewhat crushed. It's not presented like the picture at all. The first time I had it, the garlic was mild. Just the right taste added. The second time it was too much. It just taste like they added 10 cloves to it. Make sure you let them know you want the garlic taste mild.

Overall food good but overpriced for the portions.

    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank luv2eatgudfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding Thai Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This place is always very busy, lovely ambience and can be noisy. Friday or Saturday nights service can be slow. Food is delicious.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mytaphrodite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The restaurant looks really nice and I looked forward to my meal. Unfortunately, the food was bland. The waiter did not ask about the spice level, so I assumed to food would be spicy; after all, this is a Thai restaurant. The food, however, was not spicy at all. This is not how Thai food is supposed to taste. I have never before had a Som Tam that was not spicy. In addition, the beef (Weeping Tiger) was overcooked (almost well done). Again, the waiter did not ask how I wanted my beef cooked. With a few changes this could have been a nice meal. If only the waiter had communicated better and asked about our preferences.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank realtravelprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, California
Level Contributor
125 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“One of the Best Thai Restuarants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Our niece and her husband who live in San diego chose this restuarant for a family dinner. We were impressed with the elegant decor and large selection of items. the food when served was delicious. I would rate the food and service as one of the best Thai restuarants that we have eaten at. We will definitely return when we visit our family that lives in the San Diego area..

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cookieladyBayArea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Siam Nara Thai Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Siam Nara Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing