We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay”
Review of Cosmopolitan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cosmopolitan Hotel
Ranked #4 of 33 San Diego B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Pros:Loved that we were in the center of all the excitement. We stayed in Rm 11, we did not get spoked, as there were no sightings of any ghost. Hotel staff was very pleasant.
Room was clean and comfortable, loved the vintage feel of the hotel.

Cons: Bar closed at 9:00, which is pretty early for a Friday night.

Wish I was 20 years younger so I could party like there was no tomorrow.

Jarvis

Room Tip: Room 11 is connected to the utility room so it was a little noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

184 - 190 of 229 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Very nice! Felt like you stepped back to a simpler time, especially with no tv in the room haha. The staff was friendly and attentive. The location was wonderful right in the middle of all the excitement. Only negative really was that my husband is over 6 foot and he wasn't very comfortable in the smaller bed, but it was still fine. Really good stay.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank MeLynda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

By and large we enjoyed our one-night stay, which was actually made by the lovely meal in the restaurant. The room however, was disappointing, and not because we were visited in the night, or by the Victoriana, which was what we expected (well the latter anyway), but the fact that the bed was SO uncomfortable. This made for a really poor night’s sleep for both of us and neither of us are large people. Part of the problem was because the mattress is a size too small for the bed (a full mattress on a queen bed?), but also every turn is accompanied by very loud squeaking (nothing to do with us I assure you!). They really should change the mattress to fit, and fix the squeaking.
We were pleased to have stayed in Old Town San Diego rather than downtown, and though we nearly had a fit when we saw and heard how close the freeway and the railway were to the hotel, actually, at night it was OK. The location in the little park is worth it.

Room Tip: The large corner suite (4/5) is great for the ambience, but if you choose it, make sure you confirm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ESB-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Where to start? It's an intriguing place and, to reiterate the previous reviewers, it's a little piece of history all packaged up for the 21stC. I think the hotel dates back to the 1820's and was added to in the 1860's. There's talk of the place being haunted however although we kept a look out there were no scary moments!
POSITIVES: Place, rooms feel authentic. Our room had a pitch pine bath....the first I've seen and it looked fabulous. Staff are attentive and helpful. Big shout out to Lori who was FUN! Great meal in restaurant.
NEGATIVES: The hotel CLOSES at 9pm and OPENS at 9am! In essence this means that you have close on 12 hours where the hotel is unmanned Yes, you're given a key for the front door however it all feels rather surreal! Breakfast was a bit underwhelming and consisted of hot coffee and scones....it was a mystery as to who brewed the coffee as there were no staff to be seen anywhere until 9am....maybe there are ghosts after all! Room was great however there were NO WARDROBES in our room, a necessity I would have thought for a hotel?
In conclusion great for a night for the experience!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HardyMarsh55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Loved it! This gem is a page out of history. The location is central to touring Old Town by foot as well as just a short drive away from downtown. We checked in just outside the beautiful antique bar by friendly staff and were led to our room upstairs. The rooms were a lovely combination of period furnishings mixed with modern amenities and they were immaculate. There is no TV but we're not TV watchers. Free wi-fi was all we needed. The bar and courtyard restaurant below were picture perfect and a lovely place to relax in the evening. Our room was $109 and that included a coupon for a free bottle of wine and $20 off dinner - a deal we couldn't beat the entire vacation. Continental breakfast was served downstairs in the morning with fresh fruit and some very good blueberry scones - a nice alternative to the ho hum generic muffins most hotels put out would absolutely stay here again - my favorite hotel during our week long stay in California.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Whether the paranormal is your thing or not, this is a wonderful place to stay. As a State Park building they are not allowed to advertise their ghostly happenings but thanks to the internet there are plenty of sites you can google and find on You Tube that will do the talking for them. The on site restaurant is wonderful. I reccomend the Mussels ! Didnt get but 2 hours of sleep but that has nothing to do with having a bad stay, resident unseen ghosts wanted to make my night memorable. No TV, no phones, no radio but there is free WIFI! I ended up watching a lot of Netflix just so I could have some noise in the room. Wonderful antique furnishings (I had room 4/5) and a comfy bed.

Room Tip: Room 11 is supposed to be the most active, but room 4/5 saw plenty of unexplainable stuff
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SelmiMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

If you're looking for something different from the standard hotel chain, this is your place. No credit card-style room key (it's an antique skeleton key on an a vintage keyring!) . . . no phone or tv in the room . . . no minibar and fridge . . . it's like you've stepped back to 1869. If you can't be comfortable without those amenities, you might not be happy here, but we were absolutely delighted. It's a refreshing change from the standard sort of room one can get for around $100/night, and you can't beat the charming location of Old Town San Diego.

Hotel staff was marvelous. Victor not only greeted us at check-in with a friendly and efficient manner, he also remembered us over our stay, chatting with us as we passed by. David, the bartender at the outdoor bar, was friendly and informative, filled with suggestions for places to eat when we asked about his favorite places. I didn't catch the name of the host at breakfast, but he was friendly and welcoming while we waited for the hot scones to come out of the oven.

Speaking of those scones--to. die. for. These were worth the stay all on their own. Just the right crispiness on the outside, meltingly moist on the inside . . . oh, my goodness, you have to come here just for the breakfast. Fresh fruit and hot coffee rounded out a nice complimentary breakfast.

We stayed in the Californio Room (#9). One definite plus to this hotel is that there is no one above you; all the rooms are on the top floor. No Stompy McStompersons to keep you awake, and no worries about having to tiptoe so you won't wake those beneath you. The room is, in a word, adorable. It really feels genuinely vintage (not kitschy vintage, and not musty old) so you really get a sense of what Old Town must have been like so long ago. Though it's old-fashioned, you still have plenty of electrical outlets, current AC/heating, lighting, and hot water, so don't fear that it's primitive. Bathroom was spotlessly clean and huge (divine claw foot tub!) and has a soft robe for post-bathing lounging. Bedding was ultra-decadent: pillowtop mattress, down comforter, high thread-count sheets, soft pillows. Much higher quality of bedding than I expected--so comfy!

You are right in the middle of Old Town, and the surrounding restaurants (including the Cosmopolitan's restaurants) are hopping until about 10 pm, so if you turn in early, you will still hear the nearby music and crowds. The hotel's restaurant/bar does stop the music at 9pm-ish, so that's good if you're early to bed. For security purposes, there is a locking gate around the hotel, so no late-night folks can get into the restaurant or bar areas--that is reassuring.

For a little something different than usual, this place is top-notch. We don't think we've ever stayed anywhere that packed as much personality into the hotel as the Cosmo--from staff to the room to the location to all the attention to genuine vintage details, it's now our definite go-to choice for the San Diego area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rlynnprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Old Town
Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Old Town Inn
#11 of 278 in San Diego
1,919 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Old Town / SeaWorld Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#25 of 278 in San Diego
2,266 reviews
Old Town
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosmopolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmopolitan Hotel

Address: 2660 Calhoun St, San Diego, CA 92110-2705
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Old Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in San Diego
Price Range: $141 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cosmopolitan Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you enjoy being around luxurious vintage ambiance, then Old Town San Diego’s Cosmopolitan Hotel & Restaurant, the oldest surviving building in San Diego, is the place where you want to go. Visit us and we will take you back in time with our Victorian style bedrooms and baths, dining and bar, and lounges. Stroll along the hotel’s second-floor veranda or sit by your room’s window to gaze upon the activity in the State Historic Park or the outdoor courtyard. Each hotel room has a private bath and has been elegantly appointed with fine furnishings from the 1870s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Cosmopolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing