We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful cuisine!”
Review of Roy's Restaurant

Roy's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Roy's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #245 of 5,557 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: 1st Avenue
Transit: MTS Trolley stop across the street enar the Convention Center & Marriott Hotel & Marina
Description: Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine and beverage around the world ever since. Join us tonight in San Diego, CA to discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Great food, great staff, superb selections. The wait staff is very knowledgeable & attentive. I highly recommend!

Date of visit: August 2013
Thank Passport-Maven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (771)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

561 - 565 of 771 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

Here is a suggestion, sit on the backside of the bar, have some cocktails, order the appetizer menu, (especially the ribs...a meal in themselves). You will get away inexpensively and might strike up a conversation with any of the large yacht owners who frequent the place. Tales of the seafaring wealthy set abound.

Date of visit: September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

For fine dining, definitely worth a visit for at least one evening meal. If you sit outside, bring a sweater or jacket. Good service and excellent menu. Very accommodating. Excellent quality.

Date of visit: September 2013
1  Thank JacqueJ-C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Beautiful location overlooking the bay. We enjoyed fresh sushi. The ahi melted in my mouth and the cocktails were strong

Date of visit: September 2013
Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We have eaten at several Roys restaurants and this one was quite average. I ordered the seafood rissotto for $35 and the portion wasn't much more than you would expect for an appetizer and lacked any seasoning. My partner did not want seafood or red meat but there was NO chicken on the menu, he ended up ordering a chicken breast with rice that was on the kids menu, it was average at best as well. Unfortunate as the location is so beautiful.

Date of visit: September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peggy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Roy's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing