We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mimosa's, Tots, and Benedict!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of R Gang Eatery - CLOSED

R Gang Eatery
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Pennsylvania
Menifee, California
Level Contributor
129 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Mimosa's, Tots, and Benedict!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

We went to R Gang Eatery for brunch on a Saturday morning. I did some research ahead of time on brunch in the area but once I read up on R Gang and the chef use to chef it up at Confidential (I Loved That Place) I knew that I had to check it out. Not knowing how busy it would be I made reservations through Open Table. It was smart move as the place was quite crowded. Unfortunately, I did not preference indoor or outdoor seats so we ended up with indoor seats next to a window. The seat was OK but very close in relation to the people next to us and would’ve preferred to be sitting outside.

We both ordered the bottomless mimosa’s, of course! The tang/champagne mimosa was surprisingly very good. For our meal we started with the homemade popper tater tots which were beyond impressive. I preferred the chipotle ranch dipping sauce and the tots had some good spice to them. For the main course, we both got eggs benedict. I went with the original while my dining partner chose the southwest . Hers was on corn bread patties instead of English muffin and was quite nice. Mine was probably some of the best eggs benedict that I have had and cooked perfectly, nice and runny!! They also came with breakfast potatoes but I was too full from the tots and the eggs for any room. Did not want to waste a bite of the main even on some potatoes.

Next time I am down in the area for some brunch R Gang will be at or near the top of the list for options.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wiley12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    9
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tatertots”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

R Gang Eatery in Hillcrest. They do crazy things with tatertots. Is a hip vibe, but lots of greasy food. I would come here if you have more than one night in Hillcrest. If not, skip it for empire house.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank KateFied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
165 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Great menu, with many must haves. Start with the Bloody Mary with the deli swizzle. Soooooo good, and so good looking! Move on to the tater tots. They are a religious experience!!! I had the captain crunch French toast stuffed with cheese, topped with both of their homemade syrups. Heavenly. There were 8 of us and we left stuffed and really happy. Our server was excellent. Treat yourself to this place!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank austinteri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Brunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Good Brunch menu. Nice comfortable place. Had the cowboy. Way to much food. South of the border had a kick. Cheese chive tater tots made in house were good and well balanced. Cinnamon could use some work. A nice find opens early at 9 on Sunday and the service was on point and happy. Walking around Hillcrest is also nice before or after

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
126 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Not bad but hoped for better.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

“World Famous Tater Tots” - It’s a phrase that would draw us into any location...and so we found ourselves at R Gang Eatery for brunch one fine summer morning. The wait was quite long and in the end we were weren’t blown away by anything but here’s the run-down:

The coffee was good basic coffee. Not the best we’ve had but certainly passable with no complaints.

In the tot-department we had the Cheddar and Chive tots - served with a Chipotle Ranch dressing. The cheese flavor was good but the tots were not as crispy as we would have liked. We also had the “pickled” tots which may have been a special flavor as we don’t see it on the website menu now. This was quite good, house made bread and putter pickles with goat cheese and a mustard cream sauce. Definitely would get these again.

For a brunch main I had the “Eastern Vegan” which was composed of lightly toasted quinoa sautéed with soyrizo, baby bok choy, mushrooms, onions, asparagus, and potatoes, drizzled with soy-ginger glaze. The description was awesome but in practice I thought this was just okay and perhaps a little too salty.

Our other main was a side of eggs over medium and the Waffle of the Day (Peach Cobbler!) (and how cool is it to be in a place that has a ‘Waffle of the Day’) The eggs had to be sent back twice. We ordered over medium - The first time they came out scrambled, the second time they were over easy, and third time was the charm when they came out over-medium as requested. They were super busy this day but with the very long wait to get our table we could find a lot of charitable excuses to account for having to send back a simple egg dish twice.

The Peach Cobbler waffle was ok. The waffle it self was good and crispy but the cobbler was cold. It may have been cold intentionally but in either case it would have been better warm...It was also a little too sweet.

There were a few other vegetarian items on the menu included a Roasted Corn Cake which looked good, a Zucheta (grilled and chilled zucchini medallions) on the dinner menu - but overall vegetarian options, though present, were a little limited.

This particular experience at R Gang Eatery, our first was not great overall in terms of food and service...still the appeal of tots is strong so we would consider trying it again as it could have just been an off day for them (or for us...)

For more reviews from a vegetarian perspective, visit Rick and Addie's Vegetarian Food Blog at http://poetrysuperhighway.com/vfb

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rickpoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed R Gang Eatery also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing