We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy bed but expensive parking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard San Diego Mission Valley/Hotel Circle
Ranked #161 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
California City, California
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Comfy bed but expensive parking”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights due to my husband's business trip. We usually stay in IHG member hotels since hubby is a Platinum card holder but we thought we should try a Marriot hotel for a change. Room was spacious and clean. There is a personal ref which was empty for a change. Coffee brewer was available except there was no free tea bags. I usually like to drink tea after dinner. Ice machine and vending machine is available on every floor. There was no free breakfast but you can buy at their cafe at the lobby. One thing i love was the bed! It was so comfy i slept soundly every night. We found out later its a customize bed for Marriot.
The location is close to fashion mall, you can either walk or take the bus (bus stop is in front of Days Inn hotel). There is no free shuttle. Wifi is free. They also have many areas in the lobby where you can work in. Staff was nice and friendly. The downside is the expensive open parking at $18/ night!

Room Tip: Our room at the 6F was quiet even if its right in front of the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gsl_9292013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    232
    124
    38
    27
See reviews for
186
93
39
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
465 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 699 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Not much to say about this hotel. If you aren’t a Marriott Rewards card holder, there was a charge to park. WiFi, which we have never had to pay for at any Marriott we have stayed at, was $13.00 for 24 hours or free if you wanted to use it in the lobby downstairs. The room was clean with a king size bed, desk/work space area, coffee maker and refrigerator. The bathroom had a separate vanity/sink area. Our patio claimed to have a “city view” but we actually looked out on a parking lot and a view of the highway so it was noisy with the balcony door open.

We thought since we had an early flight out the next day and this hotel was close to the airport that it would be a good choice. We were wrong in that assumption. People were coming in at all hours of the night, children running down the halls yelling, adults even worse with no consideration for other guests, laughing and talking and slamming doors. At 2:30 a.m. someone either drunk or mistaken, tried to get into our room. And this is one of the more upscale Marriott hotels.

So is this the fault of the hotel management or just inconsiderate thoughtless people? You decide. But if you want a good night’s sleep, stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sailorsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
veronica b, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard San Diego Mission Valley/Hotel Circle, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Sailors Girl,

Thank you very much for staying with us, we appreciate your feedback. Our parking fee is comparable to the fees charged around our area. Please note internet is complementary whether you are in our lobby or in a guest room. We hope you give us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future. Please let me know if I can be of further assistance to you.

Sincerely,

Veronica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUSTRALIA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Booked in on the 21st May and booked out on the 24th May. What a pleasure it was to stay at this hotel. The front reception staff were excellent, efficient and friendly. Nothing was any trouble to them. They worked like a true well oiled machine with good work practices in place. If you needed a cab it was there in minutes and any questions about visiting and places to see where all set out on an very informative sheet. The bar area was great and breakfast was plentiful and hot. I recommend this to any person. The Front Office Supervisors Amanda and Sue were excellent and the Sales Coordinator Carissa was bubbly and gracious. A credit to the organization. Definitely my best stay in the US.

Room Tip: All the rooms are of high quality and the mattresses on the beds are just superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
veronica b, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard San Diego Mission Valley/Hotel Circle, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Geoff B,

Thank you very much for your comments! It was a real pleasure to have you stay at our hotel. We look forward to your next visit, hopefully very soon.

Warm regards,
Veronica Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Stayed at the Courtyard for a weekend getaway. Check-in was easy and the staff was very helpful. Rooms were clean and comfortable. There was a refrigerator but the room lacked a microwave. The lobby was quite busy but the rooms were nice and quiet. The hotel had one on-site restaurant, which we did not use. Parking costs $18 per day which I thought was excessive since the hotel next door does not charge for parking. Overall, good value for the money.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kim6612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
veronica b, Manager at Courtyard San Diego Mission Valley/Hotel Circle, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Kim 6612,

Thank you very much for your feedback, we hope you visit us again soon!
Veronica Butler.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed May 22, 2014

I recently needed some extra assistance in prepping a co-worker's itinerary. Troy was very helpful during the process. I hope I need to book this hotel, again, soon, as he was a joy to work with. It is always a pleasure to deal with those interested in "going the extra mile" to be kind and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
veronica b, Front Office Manager at Courtyard San Diego Mission Valley/Hotel Circle, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear Barbara N,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for recognizing Troy!! We appreciate your feedback, and look forward to your next visit!
Sincerely,

Veronica Butler.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

Clean, good service. Comfortable beds.
Conveniently located near highway and close to shopping area for supplies
Parking price of $18 a night seemed excessive. Had to pay for breakfast where most hotels find it complementary. No microwaves for guests in rooms or even in lobby area

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank SurgeonMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
veronica b, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard San Diego Mission Valley/Hotel Circle, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear SurgeonMike,

Thank you so much for your feedback, I apologize if the parking fee took you by surprise that was certainly not our intentions. Our fee is comparable to the parking fees charged around our area. We appreciate your business and hope you come back and visit us again soon.

Sincerely,
Veronica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas, United States
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Stayed here with colleagues for a volunteer/business event nearby. Good location with shopping and restaurants within an easy drive.
Rooms were average to slightly above for this type of property. Sleep quality was good and we found the atmosphere to be quiet. Business center had what we needed. Staff was courteous and welcoming.
Lobby and amenities were very nice, including pool area and bar. We arrived early in the day, so we actually got to spend some time on the property enjoying the pool area and having lunch.
Lunch was so tasty that we decided to have dinner there one night during our stay. Pleasantly surprised, as it was better than the average "hotel food." We ate outside on the veranda with a gas fire burning. Quite relaxing.
Good value. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NinaTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
veronica b, Manager at Courtyard San Diego Mission Valley/Hotel Circle, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Nina Trav,

Thank you for your review! We appreciate your feedback, please come back to see us again soon!

Veronica Butler.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hotel Circle - San Diego
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Hotel Circle
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hilton San Diego Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Best Western Seven Seas
Best Western Seven Seas
#143 of 278 in San Diego
1,531 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
San Diego Marriott Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Diego Mission Valley/Hotel Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Diego Mission Valley/Hotel Circle

Property: Courtyard San Diego Mission Valley/Hotel Circle
Address: 595 Hotel Circle South, San Diego, CA 92108-3403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #161 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Diego Mission Valley/Hotel Circle 3*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plugged in-in every way. The Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Mission Valley/Hotel Circle is a conveniently located hotel in San Diego, California where comfortable accommodations and a sophisticated vibe combine in unexpected ways. This renovated hotel features inspired food at The Bistro, a lounge and a Starbucks espresso bar. Complimentary Wi fi is available in your room, in the lobby or anywhere you want to go. Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Mission Valley/Hotel Circle is just minutes from Downtown San Diego's Gaslamp Quarter, the San Diego Convention Center, Mission Beach, SeaWorld and the world famous San Diego Zoo. It is also centrally located to the extensive San Diego business parks and across from Fashion Valley Mall. Qualcomm stadium is a short trolley ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard San Diego Mission Valley/Hotel Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard San Diego
San Diego Courtyard
San Diego Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing