We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very fair price”

Blue Wave Bar & Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Blue Wave Bar & Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #184 of 4,804 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $32
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Scott
Description: Enjoy the beautiful view of Point Loma paired with the delectable flavors of seasonally inspired cuisine created by Executive Chef, Christopher Spayde. What's more, the restaurant features an excellent wine list and the lounge offers a daily happy hour. You can also order room service or have food delivered poolside. Relax and unwind around a great meal at Blue Wave Bar & Grill.
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Very fair price”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Friendly staff ....very understanding with food allergies
Breakfast cook was awesome....evening cook could use lessons from morning cook
Bar staff very attentive

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank todski85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    105
    38
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
des moines
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Nice Atmosphere - Some Issues, Gluten Free Items”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Came in for a late dinner on a Sunday night. Seated right away to an almost empty dining room. Food was plentiful and good. Pretty dining room with a view of the marina.

Service was slow - especially with the very few people in the dining room. 3 of 4 patio heaters were not working making it chilly on the patio. Food was not served as described - I ordered salmon with risotto primarily for the risotto. It was very good, just not what I expected. They were out of the flourless torte. Many gluten free items on the menu and staff seemed knowledgable.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank runread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sahkopee MN
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, food could be better”
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

We dined at the Blue Wave on 3/5 for dinner before we left for home from our vacation, it was convenient for us seeing we stayed at the resort. It took a while longer than it should have to get served drinks and food for how many people were in the place. I ordered the halibut with risotto and it was flavorful but the risotto was undercooked. My wife ordered the filet med-medium well and it came out medium rare, so I at some of that too. We finished our plates and the waitress came to pick them up finally, and she said " good job you guys", tip for the waitress in the future do not say that to overweight people that I cleaned my plate.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank tubuleez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Delicious breakfasts a great start to your day!”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We ate breakfast here every morning of our stay (4 days) and sampled many different items. All were delicious. The best value is the American, with 2 eggs, meat, toast, pancakes or waffle, potatoes and small juice for $11.95. We also enjoyed the eggs benedict and breakfast burrito. Sub fruit for potatoes if you are trying to eat healthier! Service is great!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank KLOE78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaneohe
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice cold beer and good food”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

The bar had really good beer on tap at a reasonable price. The food and service was excellent. Try the mussels in marinara sauce!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank cktmhawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Wave Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Blue Wave Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing