We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good brunch”
Review of Searsucker

Searsucker
Reserve with OpenTable
Searsucker is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #92 of 4,764 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 5th and Market
Description: Seated in the heart of the Gaslamp District, Searsucker serves New American Classic cuisine paired with specialty cocktails and unique local brews.
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
213 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good brunch”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Fun and tasty menu with bottomless mimosas. Everything looked great. I had the chiliquiles which were very good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yannis63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    402
    303
    127
    47
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best restaurant on 5th Avenue”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Spent a long weekend in San Diego and went to this restaurant twice it was so good. Food was original and delicious, service excellent and atmosphere great. Cannot recommend enough
Try the mussells with chorizo and beer - amazing.
Location is right in the middle of 5th Avenue in the Gaslight area so loads of bars to go to before and afterwards

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
169 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“One of our favourite meals of our trip”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We really enjoyed our meal at Searsucker. The food was all delicious, the atmosphere (on a Friday night) was great - yes, noisy, yes, busy, yes, you couldn't really hear yourself talk, yes, doormen on the door - but if that's what you want from a Friday night then it's the ideal place! We are a daughter (30s) and her parents (60s) travelling together and we loved it. People watching, feeling like you're part of it all, seeing the locals out for a post New Year dinner - absolutely great.

The service was amazing - all the staff were working together and everything seemed to go seamlessly. We liked the kitchen in the restaurant - was good to see the people working (and always shows that people are proud of their kitchen that they are not hidden out back).

I will say that it's a slightly weird menu - It's like they're paying by the word so everything is 3 words to describe something that's got far more ingredients! If you're at all picky or have any allergies or intolerances, please get the waitress to describe the dish (ours did anyway so I think they are used to this) and tell them if there's anything you can't eat. All the food was really tasty though.

We'd definitely go there again if we were in San Diego.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelingNicx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
124 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lively!”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Had dinner here one night during our visit during Christmas week. The restaurant is in the heart of the Gaslamp District. The restaurant is large, very loud, hard to hear or have a conversation. The food was very good, sorry, I can't fully remember exactly what we had but my wife and I both enjoyed our meal. Service was great, our server was very knowledgeable. Value was very good, have paid much more for terrible food but not here. I would definitely recommend this restaurant if you are in the Gaslamp District.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PhoenixPhoenician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
84 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Interesting food and restaurant”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

I enjoyed my meal here, but my main gripe was that we were seated late (which wasn't a problem) and the restaurant pre-ordered appetizers for us. While it was nice to get started right away, we didn't get to make any choices and were charged for everything. Dessert was the same thing, the staff ordered for us (with no warning) and we were charged for everything. The food was good, the restaurant was a very loud. I did enjoy the infused cocktails in the bar, but that was the only shining star. I agree with another poster, grab a small plate and innovative cocktail at the bar and move on somewhere else for dinner.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Searsucker also viewed

 

Been to Searsucker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing