We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trendy and pricey” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Searsucker

Searsucker
Reserve with OpenTable
Searsucker is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #81 of 4,698 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 5th and Market
Description: Seated in the heart of the Gaslamp District, Searsucker serves New American Classic cuisine paired with specialty cocktails and unique local brews.
San Diego CA
Level Contributor
322 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Trendy and pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

A nice restaurant in amongst a lot of competition. This place has a great bar and good people watching, both inside and out. The food is pretty different, but good different. Watch for the chef specials.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank nadojeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    387
    288
    124
    42
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit for dinner or drinks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

It is always busy with a great atmosphere, even in chilly January. We have been here many times before and couldn't wait to go again. The food and drinks are just great and good value. If you like a lively bar, with great service then head here.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank jojo60713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita, CA
Level Contributor
246 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fine dining in the Gaslamp District”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Gourmet food, fine wine, great service, and a wonderful variety of unusual menu items. We have heard so much about the new group opening several new restaurants in San Diego County and finally got around to trying them. Check out the menu and site photos on the Internet. We all tried dishes we've never had before and relied on the recommendation of our waitress. 5 star service, yet allowed us to enjoy a dining experience. Loved the Shrimp and grits and Mussel appetizier. Great broth on the mussels. Hangar steak, duck and salmon were all outstanding.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Snorris57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern CA
Level Contributor
166 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the brunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is a great site to take a group of people with varying food styles for brunch. There was something for the vegetarians, the meat eaters, the hamburger lovers, and the fish eaters. We had a late brunch service with a wonderful server. The food make everyone smile. This is difficult with people ranging in age from the late 70's to the mid-twenties. I can see how the open floor plan can get very noisy at times. We were happy to be there at a quieter time. I would return.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank patsyannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Restored my faith in eating out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We dined like kings. 2 spilt a rib-eye tomahawk to their mutual satisfaction, 2 split a series of shared plates, and 1 had salmon. Apps. were excellent: short rib, pork belly and squid. Duck fat fries - yummy, 'fried brussels and walnuts' will get everyone eating their greens. So much more on the menu that we will try next time. And great space/seating area for pre-dinner drinks or just a cocktail.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chwarae422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Searsucker also viewed

 

Been to Searsucker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing