We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eclectic bites in the Gaslamp”
Review of Searsucker

Searsucker
Reserve with OpenTable
Searsucker is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #98 of 4,799 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 5th and Market
Description: Seated in the heart of the Gaslamp District, Searsucker serves New American Classic cuisine paired with specialty cocktails and unique local brews.
Surprise, AZ
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Eclectic bites in the Gaslamp”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Great little spot for foodies. You will not be disappointed.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hi_Fi_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    410
    310
    130
    47
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“What's cooler than cool...Searsucker!”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Located in the hype area of Gaslamp Quarter, this bar-restaurant delivers on all possible levels, starting from the vibe you get upon entering (make sure you don't go on your beachwear, as-understandably-there is a dress code), the friendly staff and the really flexible menu satisfying even the greediest of all (that's myself...). The wine-list is not epic, but on the other side is comprehensive and surely affordable, which means that your credit card will still be happy and keen to buy you some drinks after you exit Searsucker...! Big ups to the dj, as well, with his eclectic nu-disco tunez!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pospo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Service lacks”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

First, you have to know that you order and pay (including tip) before you are seated.

Shortrib sandwich was the best of all of our orders. Lobster roll - too much mayo as there was hardly a flavor. Shredded Pork sandwich -- good flavor, but eat with a fork, as you won't be able to pick it up, it falls apart.

They finally remembered our soup as we never saw a waiter again after we received our drinks upon seating, until our sandwiches arrived. We were told the soup would be comped, but since we had already paid how were they going to do that? Needless to say....we never saw any credit.

Would I return? Probably not. When you have to pay for your food & tip before you receive food or service, don't expect much.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smoothcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“OMG! Amazing food”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I had the best time at Searsucker, San Diego. Dinner was great. Our waiter, very entertaining and efficient. The food was amazing, succulent, exquisite, yummy... Desserts, to die for. It was a bit pricy but worth every penny. I also loved the decor and atmosphere.I'm already planning my next visit to S.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tishlf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Too loud, too bizarre, trying too hard”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I loved Brian Malarkey when he was at Oceanaire, but he's just gone a bit too far at this restaurant. So loud I couldn't here my friend across our two-top table. Great service, but so so food. Looked fun for cocktails, but would rather go anywhere else first.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank NBinSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Searsucker also viewed

 

Been to Searsucker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing