We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but could be worth it”
Review of Bice Ristorante

Bice Ristorante
Ranked #270 of 4,799 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 4th Street
Description: For those on a quest to find the best Italian fine dining San Diego has to offer, you've come to the right place. Nestled in the lively and cultured Downtown San Diego Gaslamp District, just three blocks away from the San Diego Convention Center, BiCE presents an award-winning dining experience with a sophisticated menu that will take your senses on a delectable tour of Italy - all without leaving the twinkling skyline of Downtown San Diego. BiCE combines the comforts of true Italian hospitality, the wholesome ingredients of a real Italian marketplace, and the culinary innovation of the finest Italian chefs for a unique dining experience, unlike any Downtown San Diego restaurants you've tried before.
San Clemente, California, United States
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Expensive but could be worth it”
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

This place is in the very busy gas lamp district and seems to compete well for business so the locals must like it . The service was pretty good and the night we were there it was crowded . The food was expensive and everything was good except for the veal chop which was tasteless . I asked for some mayo to dress it up a bit but it never came and the dish got cold . To the managers credit it was taken off the bill . We found the house white wine and champagne to be very nice as was our flan and ice cream desserts . I feel this a good date night place but not family dining because of the expense . I would try bice again but I might stick to the pasta dishes.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    82
    45
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“simply great italian food !”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I love this place...has a wonderful decor with lots of people and the food its just so amazing.
the pasta with lobster and the carpaccio were just so delicious.the Manager show me an amazing wine list and i had a great Italian Pinot Grigio.
even the espresso was just the way i love it...very creamy and flavorful .

be back soon !

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maximofunfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Servers, and a Very Good Menu”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

This was a surprise. I hadn't hear much about the place, but boy did it impress me. The food was delicious, plentiful, and not always traditional. It's a bit upscale, and the staff seems a bit theatrical in their presentation, but it was a fun evening with 15 of my business associates. The drinks were always full, the bread was always freshened, and the staff went out of their way to accommodate unusual requests. A very fun, and filling, evening.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Walorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, B.C.
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Italian Sea Food”
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

Excellent menu and very good service; really good tasting menu at a fair price. Dessert was a bust! The Pino Grigio wine recommended was excellent.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank KipWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Outstanding, innovative cuisine”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We had a phenomenal meal with several unique and well executed dishes. Especially notable were the brussels sprout salad, grilled squid salad antipasti and the squid ink gnocci. The waiter, Paolo, was both informative and amusing. HAfter we described our taste in wine, Paolo suggested a really nice, fruity white Sicilian wine, and it was one of the less expensive choices, something one doesn't often encounter in a restaurant setting. The only negative for the evening was the noise level in Bice. The hard surface decor makes for a fairly noisy environment, not so kind to those with imperfect hearing.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tf2073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bice Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Bice Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing