We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“La Jolla & Torrey Pines - Great 1/2 day”

Coastal San Diego Tours to La Jolla & Torrey Pines with TourGuideTim
Ranked #57 of 259 Tours in San Diego
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Half-Day, Expert-Guided Tour from San Diego to La Jolla and Torrey Pines. Amazing Scenery. Fascinating History. Includes driver & guide for a better experience. Join our optional walking tours or take free time to explore on your own. See 360-degree views from one of the highest hilltops along the Southern California coast, multi-million dollar mansions, sea lions, seals, pelicans, cormorants, paragliders flying off ocean cliffs, and the Torrey Pines Golf Course, home to the 2008 & 2021 U.S. Opens. Learn about the history of pioneering women, famous residents, aviation, geology, architecture, military, interesting trees and more.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“La Jolla & Torrey Pines - Great 1/2 day”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Booked on line from Australia. Tim is a very personable young man with lots of information to share on the La Jolla & Torrey Pines region of San Diego. We spent a delightful 1/2 day with him last September. Tim's easy manner and informative commentary, coupled with beautiful weather, made this a tour we'd recommend. His driver was both capable and humorous. The tour is well-paced and time sped by such that we were left feeling we wanted more. A great way to absorb the flavour of greater San Diego.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank inveteratetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    0
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful tour”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

As I reflect on our travels this past year, one of the highlights of our journey to San Diego for the first time was our Coastal San Diego Tour to La Jolla and Torrey Pines. Tim was a very informative, enthusiastic and accommodating guide. The reviews I found on TripAdvisor helped us decide to use Tim's services and we were not disappointed. Pick up was an easy walk from our hotel and we thoroughly enjoyed the coastal tour. My husband especially enjoyed our visit to Torrey Pines. Thanks Tim for helping to make our trip to San Diego memorable.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank rabbit1060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
“Tim and his Tour are Terrific”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We took the tour with Tim to La Jolla and Torrey Pines on the first day of our visit to San Diego.

It was great - he not only was one of the nicest tour guides we have ever had - but one of the most knowledgeable. After touring with Tim, we knew what places in San Diego we wanted to go to and what places we did not have to bother with. He made his tour so easy to enjoy for all of the guests - making sure everyone was seeing what they wanted and giving everyone enough time to enjoy. He took so many pictures of all of us with our cameras, he was like our own private photographer. The tour used a small mini-bus which was comfortable and kept the tour small and very manageable. The bus driver made sure to drive any passengers who didn't want to walk to certain points of interest - they were very accommodating. He recommended restaurants in La Jolla for lunch and made sure everyone had enough time to do whatever they wanted on their own.

We would highly recommend this tour to anyone who wants to see the beautiful La Jolla area and get a great insight to the things to see in San Diego.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank bigapple10128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Ulm, MN
Level Contributor
276 reviews
127 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Knowledgable, Friendly, Flexible, Professional, Clear Voice”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Based on the 100% Excellent reviews I read on TA, I hired Tim to serve as a step-on guide for a full-day tour of San Diego/La Jolla. It's not easy to keep 50 people with various interests engaged but Tim managed to make it happen. He has a very pleasant personality that immediately made us feel as if he was part of the group. We had a general plan and gave Tim a little flexibility in case of traffic or other concerns. We couldn't have been happier.
Tim's knowledge of the area was put to the test as many of our travelers were very inquisitive teachers who wanted to know about everything from history to vegetation. Tim handled each question like a pro.I have hired many guides to serve as a step-on local expert for bus tours across the country. Many have been good, a few have been great...Tim was the tops! If you are looking for the best guide in San Diego, Tim is your man!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank AlumniGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
198 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Tour La Jolla, San Diego tour”
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

Wanting to do something in La Jolla , but without a car. We went on TourGuideTim tour.
Easy to. Ok via the front desk at Gaslamp hotel. Easy walk to the Santa Fe depot. Bus was there right on time.

Vincent was our tour guide for the afternoon. He was very friendly wig a great easy knowledge of the area. The bus was very new and comfortable. We drive up the coast to La Jolla and enjoyed an easy but very informative afternoon.

Would recommend it to anyone who wants to see that part of the world.

The time we spent at the Torrey Pines golf course was a pleasant surprise for a non golf person. Just wonderful place.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Margo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coastal San Diego Tours to La Jolla & Torrey Pines with TourGuideTim also viewed

 

Been to Coastal San Diego Tours to La Jolla & Torrey Pines with TourGuideTim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing