We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Ride” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Happy Trails - Private Rides

Happy Trails - Private Rides
california
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A Great Ride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We got to ride July 4th weekend 2013 in San Diego on the beach. It was so fun, and anyone that's never done it, whether a horse person or not should do it. The horses are on auto-pilot, and very easy to ride. Viewing dolphins was a plus.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank wwoodall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    5
    1
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice.. Beach was gorgeous!,,”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We took a group of 7 for early bird beach ride... It is 45 minutes to get to beach, maybe 20 minutes on beach and 45 back.. Too much trail and not enough beach for my taste... ALSO, I wanted a photo of the 7 of us on the beach, but they didn't let us get out of order, by our other family members or stop to take photo... That was disappointing,

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Horseback ride on the beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Great fun. Our guide, Jamie, was cute and knowledgable. We are all horse novices and it was great for us. One 9 year old, a 19 year old and 2 grandparents. The beautiful wildflowers were in bloom along the trail leading to the beach and the weather that day was perfect. The horses do not go into the water because she said it might spook one and cause a problem, but that was ok. The views of the border fence with Mexico and the bull fighting arena noises were an interesting plus to the beautiful beach ride. Highly recommend.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank SJ O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best Birthday Ride Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Veronica could not have been a more pleasant guide! We loved the chat, the scenery and the amazing horses. We can't wait to ride there again!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank gabi p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
180 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A fun ride on the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

My wife and daughter signed up for a horse ride on the beach. This is something they both had really wanted to do for some time. They signed up for a private ride for two hours. Both are experienced riders so they did not need any explanation or education on riding. The horses were great, the guide was experienced and had a lot of good local information. The guide also proactively offered to take pictures. The ride consisted of a trail path to the beach and then a ride along the water. One item to note. The location is very close to the border and they saw a number of patrol folks and agents. At no time did they feel concerned, however.

Overall a great experience that they would both do again.

Helpful?
3 Thank es_in_tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Happy Trails - Private Rides also viewed

 

Been to Happy Trails - Private Rides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing