We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Gaslamp Quarter
from $60.00
More Info
from $35.00
More Info
from $32.00
More Info
Reviews (1,446)
Filter reviews
988 results
Traveler rating
354
369
182
61
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
354
369
182
61
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fun area horton plaza convention center petco park gas lamp walk around seaport village parking architecture stroll sd trolley padres
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 988 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Went to check the area out, based on recommendations from here and youtube. In the end its just a lot of bars and resturants, nothing special, wouldnt go out of my way to get there in the future.. but now i know. But not a bad place to go for a feed. Not worth it if you have the kids with you.

1  Thank chopstar87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

The "Gaslamp Quarter" - some of you already seen the reviews I've posted on landmarks , restaurants and hotels from San Diego - now here it is a short summary on the "quarter" where you can find most of the places I've been writing about and a lot more:
location - San Diego - the Gaslamp Quarter - 4th , 5th , 6th avenue - not delimited very strictly but for sure you will find it fairly easy.
Lots of restaurants:
- Watergrill, the Rockin Baja Lobster, etc.
Hotels: Hilton, Marriott, Hard Rock hotel, etc.
Shops , pubs, bars , clubs , etc.
Parking can be tricky, so you might want to look for a place and than take a walk ... it is more practical from my perspective.
Walking can be interesting it is a nice place to move around get to know a bit San Diego.
If you are looking for a place to throw a party the serval clubs that come alive during the night you will find a venue here.
Dining opportunities I've reviewed a few and there are plenty more that you can choose from.
Options for shopping you can find several and if you are looking for souvenirs you will find here options.
So if you want to get a slightly wider perspective about San Diego I recommend you take a walk through the Gaslamp Quarter. I think you will also find it interesting.

Thank Tiberiu_Baranyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went with friends to grab dinner and drinks... so many places to choose from. Great atmosphere, good mix of age groups. Parking in a lot was pricey, but worth it. Would def go again.

Thank 21danib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was here 20 years ago and remember quite the nice area, not so much any more. went to an Irish pub for lunch that wasn't very good

Thank nannyca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I'm always a little hesitant to review areas like Gaslamp or the Quarter in New Orleans or South Beach in Miami. Let's face it. They were mostly designed and built or re-imagined to attract tourists and as a result, they can quicky and easily become "touristy". And depending on the locale, design and nature can work for you (think art deco South Beach and the Atlantic) or can contribute little.

For Gaslamp, to me there's no real architectural significance but SoCal weather is definitely a huge factor. It's a very comfortable place to walk around for most all of the year. The invasion of electric scooters can clog the sidewalks a bit but most seem to be parked at least in clumps and all standing up vs. just laying around haphazardly.

We found a couple of less touristy places to dine and visit but the real fun is just in walking around and people watching.

Night life here is vibrant and entertaining and there are clubs and venues with live bands.

I do recommend as it's a very well known area and you can't go to SD without stopping by but I would not plan more than a couple of hours plus another hour to eat somewhere.

1  Thank 2BEis2SKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Interesting old section of the city. Lots of good restaurants. Our favorite was Club 21, the food was good, and the live music was the best. You had the option of eating on the outside, or in the dining room. The staff was very cordial, but the ambience of the place was the best part of the evening. Prices were reasonable, and food was good. We loved all of the restaurants, and our condo for the week Harbor Lights Wyndham Resort. The area felt safe, and was within walking distance to the Conference Center where our meetings were. Cute boutique shops to find treasures to take home. Loved this area of town!

1  Thank Martha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2018 via mobile

San Diego has so much to see and to do. One of the "Must visit" places is Gaslamp Quarter. A great place to take family during the day. For nightlife, it is the place to be in San Diego.

Gaslamp Quarter is touted as 16 1/2 blocks of walkable urban playground in the heart of San Diego. Very fitting description. Make sure to drop by!

2  Thank ExpoNationals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2018

Filled with restaurants, bars and nightclubs, The Gaslamp District is San Diego's French Quarter.

There's lotsa choices when it comes to cuisine and a lotta price points. Be sure to check with your fave recommendation app to find the place that best suits you for food.

Thank HaljoHal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2018 via mobile

Great area to explore and grab some great cuisine! It’s right across from the convention center and had easy access to the green line for transportation to Old Town. Easy walk to the seaport area as well!

Thank Joanne Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2018 via mobile

If you love to eat and party then this is the place for you. Approximately 12 blocks of bars and restaurants with a splash of retailers to keep it honest. Everything from high end eateries to dive bars with some known favorites spread along 5th from the convention center to downtown.
Parking is tough but hotels are available close by.

Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews