We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's ok...”

Bencotto Italian Kitchen
Reserve with OpenTable
Bencotto Italian Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #37 of 4,765 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: India Street/Kettner Blvd.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“It's ok...”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Went for dinner with a couple of friends. We had pizza margherita. The pizza crust was good and not chewy, but the cheese was a little hard. My friend had the spaghetti aglio ed olio, which don't look at all like the real aglio & olio from Italy. They were a big blog of spaghetti and messy sauce with a spicy pepper on top, weird and not that good. Then we had the grilled vegetables, ok but "boring".
Overall, I think we'll try another place next time.
Service was nice and quick even on a busy Saturday evening.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Francesca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    130
    47
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fresh hand made pasta”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

If you are looking for fresh pasta in San Diego then Bencotto is the place. Chefs pain painstakingly create pasta from scratch 14 hours a day here and you can taste it with every bite. Their menu allows diners to choose from a list of pastas and sauces so that you can create your dream pasta dish. Bring a date and enjoy the comfort of fresh Italian cuisine.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johnny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, USA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fresh pasta and sauces that are tasty”
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Great fresh pasta. Sauces are well made and served very hot. If you are looking for a high quality pasta meal you won't be disappointed with this place. Sampled fettuccini and penne with arrabiatta also the walnut Gorgonzola sauce. All excellent! Only reason not 5 stars is the price. Portions are good. Service was great, too

Helpful?
1 Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Even the locals rave about it”
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

We found this restaurant on trip advisor. When we told some locals we were going there they couldn't stop raving about it. They said they take all of their visitors there.

With so much hype, we weren't disappointed. The pasta is freshly made at the restaurant and there is an extensive list to choose from. I had the gnocchi filled with Gorgonzola cheese and it was amazing. I love pasta and this was one of the best meals I've had. My husband had the plain gnocchi and it too was fabulous.

We were only in San Diego for one night and I'm glad we didn't miss out dining at Bencotta.

Helpful?
Thank KThompson85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“MANGIA MANGIA”
Reviewed October 30, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The food at BENCOTTO is absolutely mouth watering. Everything is fresh. The pasta is made everyday. The gnocchi is to die for!
They have an incredible wine list as well. Ambiance is great for conversation. No need to yell over each other. Service is great as well. Never had to chase down a server.
My choice is to sit outside and enjoy the fresh air and sites of San Diego.
Highly recommend to all.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roxanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bencotto Italian Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Bencotto Italian Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing