We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best italian in California”

Bencotto Italian Kitchen
Reserve with OpenTable
Bencotto Italian Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #48 of 4,724 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: India Street/Kettner Blvd.
Level Contributor
141 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Best italian in California”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

This place is a must if you want traditional Italian food and great service to come with it. A great wine list with good prices and the food is divine, everything is hand made a fresh prepared and it shows in the quality and taste of the food. Will recommend to everyone that visits to go to this restaurant love it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank BrendenAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    128
    45
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
462 reviews
313 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“Remarkable Pasta”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

If you like homemade pasta ,this is a great choice in San Diego. We had 5 different pastas and they were all very good.They have some very reasonable Italian wines also. The fried risotto was not great but the waiter told us not to order it ,so it was our fault.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelLikeaStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gnocchi was not freshly made”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

My daughter loved the gnocchi, but I could tell by the design on the pasta that it was not freshly made. This is a shame because a friend recommended this place for it's freshly made pasta. Maybe they could identify the gnocchi as "store-bought?" Our server was awesome. It seemed like a 'hip and trendy' place, but she didn't seem to mind that we weren't wearing jewels.

We were extremely offended when we walked past the partner restaurant, next door, which spelled out an obscenity starting with "f" on it's floor. We will not be returning.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank AZbicycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“real homemade pasta”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

san diego has a large little Italy section and this restaurant is really good.Our table had gnocchi,tagliatelle,penne and tag boscaiola. All were homemade and excellent. the only thing we had that wasn't great was the fried risotto ,which the waiter tactfully tried to steer us away from but we didn't listen,they recommended a bottle of Neprica Tormaresco that was very good and only $35 a bottle, Great food ,great evening. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Globaltraveller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
1 review
“Great contemporary italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We had a wonderful dinner here. Contemporary Italian cuisine. Bright, light, open space. On this evening they had a lager-braised beef cheek special that was absolutely wonderful. Pricing is reasonable for the location and we were at $100ish for two adults including desserts.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank twgiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bencotto Italian Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Bencotto Italian Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing