We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and great food”

Bencotto Italian Kitchen
Reserve with OpenTable
Bencotto Italian Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #56 of 4,764 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: India Street/Kettner Blvd.
Louisville
Level Contributor
65 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent service and great food”
Reviewed October 25, 2011

On vacation, I did not get in restaurant I wanted so researched more on TA and came up with Bencotto. Waitress was very helpful, started with pork stuffed fried olives and wine, inordered gnocchis and date ordered pasta. Both excellent.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Monica1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    130
    47
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisiana
Level Contributor
108 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Worth checking out”
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Modern Italian with an old world taste. Don't fill-up on the bread but it's great. The appetizers were really good. I can't say anything bad about the place.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LawdawgBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
234 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Exceptional Italian Food in San Diego's Little Italy”
Reviewed October 12, 2011

With a chef from Modena, well-trained staff, and exceptional food, this restaurant is like dining in Italy, without the jet lag. The stars here are the appetizers, inventive, and delicious, as well as the pastas (all made on the premises), and lamb dishes. Leave room for dessert, because you will not be able to resist!
Bring your own wine, wine list is a bit pedestrian, but $15 corkage is reasonable; make sure to make a reservation, because it can be quite busy.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fooddr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Worth every penny... and fairly priced.”
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Wanted to take my wife out for a nice birthday trip to San Diego. I found this place online and from what I have heard through family in the area, this was the place to go. I called and got a reservation, and we were set to go. We arrived a few minutes early and they sat us right away. They brought us some bread and dipping sauce, and we gobbled it up.

The menu consists of alot of italian favorites and some with there own twists to it. The key is the daily hand made pasta. Let me say that again. DAILY HAND MADE PASTA. They have nine different kinds of pasta, with nine different sauces. where you pick the sauce, and the meat if you want one. I went with the PAPPARDELLE pasta, with the Bencotto sauce, and shrimp. (pictured) It was amazing. everything was perfect. my father-in-law cleaned up the lasagna, and wife loved the pesto pasta she ordered, not one person inour party of 9 was disapointed. It was all great. We had an appetizer of the Burrata cheese and thought it was awesome as well.

The staff and managers were on top of everything, refilling bread and drinks, making sure all was well with our dining experience. The location in little Italy is great as well, we walked around after and went to gt some gelato down the street. Best thing about this place, was the prices are not that bad. You get a good portion to price, and I found other italian places in the same area that cost more but were not rated like this place was. You will NOT be disapointed. Bon Apetit. Oh and we will be back for sure.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank weluvtotravel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miller Place, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Delicious pasta, great atmosphere!”
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We dined here in early September and were delighted with the food, ambience and service. We had called to make reservations ahead of time and were seated promptly at a table by the window. We tried the artisanal cheese platter as an appetizer, and of course we all had pasta as our entree. The pasta was delicious- we had baked gnocchi, and one other dish- delicious! We ordered drinks and wine and the service was great. We were just too full for dessert though- so we took a walk and went to another place a little later for gelato.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lucymoosey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bencotto Italian Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Bencotto Italian Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing