We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Best Magaritas!! Excellent service"”
Review of Playa Grill and Margarita Bar - CLOSED

Playa Grill and Margarita Bar
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"Best Magaritas!! Excellent service"”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

The Playa Grill is the best place for a Magaritas and atmosphere is great. We were here visiting San Diego and googled a place for Magaritas and the Playa Grill popped up as the best Magarita place in San Diego. Needless to say we were not dissapointed. The atmosphere was great, good people , good vibe. If you are looking for a nice place to chill, have a drink and mingle, this is the place, added plus "The Best Magaritas in San Diego" will definately come back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank soni12_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    16
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
385 reviews
282 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I visited San Diego recently and enjoyed my dining experience at Playa Grill. I had a margarita that was simply great....wonderful flavor! I ate my way through the calamari that was amazing...very light and crispy! I ate chile rellenos for dinner and they were great as well. Had a lot of fun at this restaurant, and loved the fact that their food was so fresh. It was a great atmosphere as well. I'll definitely return on my next visit!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Massdane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Live Music Saturday”
Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

It's always nice to have some variety in the mix of bars and restaurants, so the folk Singer on Saturday gave this place the vacation vibe. The 50% off happy hour makes the otherwise average food and margaritas worth it. For some lively conversation and bar food this is a good place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeachBum92130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Happy Hour!”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Been here twice and had a good time both. The Happy Hour cannot be beat in the Mission Valley or surrounding areas: all drinks and appetizers half off 4-7, DAILY! Maybe a little too pricey for booze otherwise. The cheese enchilada combo and "raja" burrito are good vegetarian options, but plenty of food on the menu for all. Place is clean, has an interesting layout, nice patio, parking and even live music. Not sure if this is a regular thing, but was Saturday afternoon. Enjoy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank murrphi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Awesome Happy Hour”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

A friend and I met for a girls night out, happy hour. I decided on this location because of the great revies I read. This place did not disappoint, we set on the outside patio around the fire pit. The drinks were delicious and made with top shelf liquor. I ordered the fajita nachos and they were really tasty. The drinks pack quite a punch so please limit yourself to 2 or have a dd. They had a guy singing acousticlally, he sounded great and he took request. I will definately visit again. Our server was very friendly as well.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa Grill and Margarita Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing