We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Newly Renovated--Highly Recommend”
Review of Hotel Aqua Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Aqua Mar
Ranked #158 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Glendale, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Newly Renovated--Highly Recommend”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

We were looking for a last minute, cheap hotel to stay one night in San Diego. There weren't many reviews but we took a chance on Hotel Aqua Mar and I highly recommend it to others. The room was only $59 and was completely renovated. Everything in the room was brand new including the floor, the bathroom, tv and minifridge. The neighborhood (Point Loma) is nice and is in walking distance to a Starbucks, a grocery store, the water and within 15 min driving to Point Loma lighthouse/Castillo National monument. The staff was nice and helpful. Overall I highly recommend this hotel for a cheap room that is extremely clean and in a safe area. We will definitely stay at this hotel next time we are in San Diego.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NicoleAlianza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Manager at Hotel Aqua Mar, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
From the bottom of our hearts, we thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to write us a review. Your review is a great representation of our hotel, and we are thankful that you are sharing your experience with future guests. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    57
    23
    10
    11
See reviews for
31
46
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Travelling by car throughout California and was quite surprised with the accommodations here. Clean, new and friendly staff. There isn't much within walking distance but if you have a car, then this is the place to stay at the right price point. The competition in the area aren't better. The rooms are perfect and there is free parking....don't hesitate to make this yoy r overnight stop.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bellerio2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Manager at Hotel Aqua Mar, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you ma'am for taking the time to post a review for our hotel. We appreciate your kind words, and are glad that our rooms, service, and amenities exceeded your expectations. In the area, we have a quite a few unique restaurants, the harbor is right across the street, and there is of course all of the necessary stores in the are just in case you forget anything. We have tailored our new hotel to fit our guest needs, and are excited for you to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mount, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

This was quite the value. I stayed on a weekday, so the price was very good. I think they double their prices on the weekends, so I probably wouldn't stay during that time, but I really thought it was wonderful. I feel like the rooms were recently updated or renovated. The room smelled brand new, the bathroom had modern fixtures, the tv was a nice thin HD tv, and it had some cool modern light fixtures. The bed was extremely comfortable. It felt super safe and the location was awesome. I loved the room.

However, I think they are having problems with their online reservations. I booked a room through their website. When I visited, they didn't have any records that I had booked my stay even though I had an email receipt and confirmation number. They ended up giving me a bigger room for the same price as my email receipt, but it was the last room they had. If they didn't have that room, I would have been out of luck. They need to fix this problem ASAP. The front-desk said they've had similar issues.

Room Tip: I would call to reserve a room. Their website booking tool should not be trusted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DavidWHowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Aqua Mar, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Mr. DavidWHowell,

Thank you so much for taking time out of your day to write this wonderful review about our hotel. Our company recently bought and renovated this hotel so everything is brand new. In our suites you can find brand new beds, modern lights, brand new bathrooms and brand new flat screen tv’s.
We strongly wanted to introduce a boutique hotel to the wonderful location of Point Loma in San Diego that was very modern and bright. Because we are only months old we are still working out a few little bugs here and there but we promise you our online reservation program is being looked into.
Again, thank you for your time and review, we love knowing our recent changes helped provide excellent customer service. Please come back anytime.

Sincerely,
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.2 mi away
Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina
0.4 mi away
Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport
Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport
#183 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada San Diego Airport
Ramada San Diego Airport
#139 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Yacht Harbor Hotel
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
#113 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#23 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aqua Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aqua Mar

Property: Hotel Aqua Mar
Address: 1510 Rosecrans St, San Diego, CA 92106-2241 (Formerly Sun Harbor Motel)
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #158 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Aqua Mar 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Aqua Mar is a modern boutique hotel, that brings the aquatic, beachy atmosphere of San Diego alive in a hip, fresh way. We invite on-the-go travelers who want to be near the San Diego International Airport, as well as couples and families who want to experience San Diego to the fullest as we are located near all of the major attractions such as Sea World, the Zoo, and of course the famous beaches. It is our promise to provide clean, comfortable, and stylish accommodations during your stays in our lovely city. Our number one goal is to ensure that your visit to San Diego exceeds your expectations, therefore, we extend complimentary Wireless Internet and parking to all of our guests. Book your reservation now... Hotel Aqua Mar awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Aqua Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Harbor Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing