We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
San Diego
Post
Inbox
Search
Open today: 9:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Save
  
Recommended experiences in and around San Diego
from $85.00
More Info
from $89.00
More Info
from $135.00
More Info
from $45.00
More Info
Reviews (774)
Filter reviews
774 results
Traveler rating
683
51
17
9
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
683
51
17
9
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews whale watching captain troy america's cup maritime museum blue whale grey whales see whales beautiful boat american flag schooner america sailing yacht mega pod of dolphins knowledgeable crew dress in layers saw dolphins great trip hour trip
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 774 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I really like the new gathering place! This was probably our 4th time out with you and we enjoyed it as much as the first! The America and it's crew are always so much fun and we always learn something new. The boat is beautiful.

Date of experience: January 2020
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank preidsail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Boat was perfect, size was perfect, length was perfect. Al was like a bad wedding DJ- loud nonstop obnoxious bragging and jokes for the whole 4 hours and seemed annoyed if everyone wasn’t paying attention to him. He had great info about the animals and the area- other than that we would have appreciated being allowed to enjoy the sailing peacefully. Also we came back to spend the last hour in the bay watching a military boat- wished we had spent it looking for more whales. We saw lots of dolphins and it was a beautiful ride.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank Roam313802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

and great captain, crew, a "must do" for anyone visiting San Diego. The snacks were much appreciated. We saw several whales.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank nabgilby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago


We not only saw gray whales and rode with a huge pod of common dolphins, we also enjoyed Al's informative and fun talk .He was great and the ship is a stunning vessel to be aboard My son and I enjoyed the Friday morning immensely ..AND we were treated to witnessing dolphin boat training.. F-18 taking off ..and the deployment of the USS Teddy Roosevelt aircraft carrier... AMAZING!! Cheers to the incredible crew and the incredible day!

Date of experience: January 2020
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

So the thing about wildlife is you cannot plan for it. We did get to see whales but it was mainly blowholes and a tail. Don’t get me wrong it was exhilarating to see this. But this trip is more about the other wildlife. We had a large pod of dolphins swim with us for about 15 minutes. We also got to see the Roosevelt aircraft carrier sail out of San Diego. Al was an awesome guide and provided so much detail on the whales, their migration and San Diego in general. Plus he’s a movie star! Great trip. If you go in Jan dress up warm.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews