We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Karl Strauss' Old Columbia Brewery and Grill
Book In Advance
More Info
$62.00*
and up
San Diego Beer Stroll Tour
Ranked #15 of 210 Nightlife in San Diego
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: From the long bar and raised dining area, guests at this busy and popular microbrewery and restaurant view the brew kettle and shiny fermenters.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Tower 10”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

GREAT beer, fantastic service, delicious and well priced grilled salmon salad, clean restroom, I will return

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank G K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    16
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
134 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Bar Delights”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

The best beer, with awesome appetizers, in a fun atmosphere served with a smile. What more could you ask for on an outing?

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank BTPI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Beer and Great Staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

I went to Karl Strauss during my stay in San Diego simply because it was very close to the hotel I was staying in, but I'm so glad I visited! The atmosphere is extremely relaxed and has a nice friendly feel to it. I'm not a beer drinker so that aspect of Karl Strauss didn't appeal to me, but I have it on good authority from my husband and friends that the selections of beers was great. The fact that they gives free small samples before having to commit to a full glass certainly helped!

The food is actually incredibly good. We visited Karl Strauss three times in all - twice for lunch and once for dinner in a big group. Special mentions have to go to their tree hugger mac & cheese, ahi poke and the chili lime fries - do not leave without trying those! Their black bean soup also makes a great lunch. The staff are also really attentive and friendly, and really know their beers! If I'm lucky enough to find myself in San Diego again, this will be my first choice for food. I really hope I get the chance to go back again!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank little_miss_pink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“same ol' same ol'”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

The only way to make a good experience out of the routinary place of asking for a beer and pizza is to have good company, in case you don't this will be the routine place where everything is scripted from the moment you get in, till they give you the check. "hi, how many? would you like to try...? "no pressure"... and for chicken wings this place still does not beat my favorite so didnt impress me.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Alain F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fieldbrook, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Samples”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

The staff was very friendly and generous with samples! The nachos were delicious! Good beer!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank MollyBits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karl Strauss' Old Columbia Brewery and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Karl Strauss' Old Columbia Brewery and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing