We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location was everything”

Barefoot Bar and Grill
Ranked #18 of 210 Nightlife in San Diego
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A popular bar and dance club overlooking San Diego's Mission Bay.
Danville, Illinois
Level Contributor
180 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Location was everything”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

It's pretty hard to give a rating of 2 to a restaurant with such a great view of the ocean waters, and yet it is necessary.

I had lunch with a work colleague on their suggestion. He liked this place because of their microbrews on tap and said he goes there a lot after work. At lunch time, the service is just passable and the food is mediocre at best.

He had a burger, which he said was very good. But he was convinced that the beer the waitress brought was not the right kind. It took a good 10 minutes after she brought it to the table to get her back. She replaced it right away but it still wasn't right. She insisted it was what he ordered but he was convinced it was wrong. I had fish tacos which were served luke warm and were really unseasoned. Plus they were TINY - more like appetizers. Three 3-4" tortillas and about 1.5 oz. of actual fish. Good thing I was scheduled for a big dinner that evening.

Service was very slow and inattentive. It's a beautiful surrounding area, but there are plenty of other waterfront restaurants in this area that can probably do better.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank blueiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    16
    6
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
118 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Food good, service awful. Would skip this place in future.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Had dinner and breakfast during our stay at Paradise Point. Food was good. But the service was awful. Very slow and unresponsive wait staff. Even though we were on vacation, you still don't want to be sitting around! Should have learned from our experience at dinner and skipped having breakfast there. But figured to give it another try. As the saying goes, "fool me once, shame on you, fool me twice, shame on me." No thanks!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank love_HNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santee
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Casual, Enjoyable Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

I took a friend and his wife to the Barefoot Bar & Grill for his milestone birthday. I was hoping for a relaxed San Diego atmosphere with a great view if Mission Bay, and I was not disappointed. The food is tasty, and the service is good. This restaurant is at the Paradise Point Resort. It is family-friendly. I plan to return with more friends and family.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank SDTrekkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent bayfront bar & grill which rocks on Sundays”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Paradise Point is aptly named with tropical foliage on a bayfront location, with its own beach.
Barefoot Bar and Grill features al freso dining on a point, with 180 degree bay front views. I enjoyed my Fish Sandwich with Aioli ($14) and Blue Hawaiians ($10.)

There are plenty of market umbrellas to keep off the sun. A baby shark and manta rays swim in lagoon and a nephew pointed out a lobster. There were many kids there on Saturday. For Sunday, the bar is the place to be for the over 30 crowd and bands play in the afternoons.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Lunch on the Bay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Great place for casual food and cocktails
Kid friendly and fish in adjacent lagoon to keep them captivated
Best time for happy hour or weekend lunch

Helpful?
Thank Jprantil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barefoot Bar and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Barefoot Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing