We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pho done right, served quickly, at a great price”
Review of Pho Ca Dao & Grill

Pho Ca Dao & Grill
Ranked #418 of 4,804 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $6 - $9
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Mukilteo, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Pho done right, served quickly, at a great price”
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

We dined here on a very busy friday evening. The staff was working quickly to seat guests, take orders and get the food out. They are a well oiled machine in this regard. It eas a pleasure to watch.

The menu is extensive, including a $5 children's menu. Most items were $5-$8. Our pho and a mixed grill salad were tasty and the ingedients were fresh.

This is a great "find" in Rancho Bernado.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Don G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    12
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great food, great price and great service.”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We've eaten at this location many times and also at Pho Ca Dao in Mira Mesa. We've never been disappointed. Our typical meal consists of spring rolls, pho and iced jasmine tea. We've tried and loved all of the spring roll selections and about a third of the pho selections. Our current favorite pho is #25 that features marinated beef that is cooked on a grill. The pho comes in two sizes with the large costing slightly more than the regular size. We rarely can finish the regular size pho. There are times when we didn't have a huge appitite and ordered a large pho and an extra bowl so that we can split the large. The service is always quick, responsive and attentive.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CA_Travel_Two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, CA
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Fast, friendly service and really fresh food!”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

This Pho ca Dao location in RB is a really good one! Clean, fast service; and they're all really nice in there and are constantly filling your water glass! Ample parking and whether you're with a large group (say a group of 8), or with less company, you get your food fairly quickly! This has become one of my favorite places to get the Vietnamese meal I crave...

That said, I wouldn't say I'm a Pho connoisseur; I actually never order Pho-- I get the Bún thịt nướng (yeah, I had to look that up). Here's the wikipedia description: A thin rice vermicelli served cold with grilled marinated pork chops and fish sauce, with julienned daikon and carrot. This is my favorite Vietnamese dish and the only thing I ever get when I go to a Pho place. I've recently started ordering this with the egg rolls too (menu item V5).. YUM! The meat is absolutely fresh and delicious!

Order a large, you get more noodles and more meat for not much more than $1.50. It's always good for a second meal (for the lighter eater), as long as you don't pour all your fish sauce in when you stick it in the to-go box. Otherwise you get soggy noodles the next day. Oh and the fish sauce isn't really fishy at all.. just adds that little bit of flavor to juicyness to the vermicelli noodles.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CLaw_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London/ Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Best Pho I've had yet and also the cheapest!”
Reviewed March 20, 2012

This is a really good place. Super quick service as in most Vietnamese restaurants in the area. The decor is nicer than some of its nearby competitors. Waiter was amusing and helpful. The food was really good. I had the chicken pho which was delish, the ginger chilli sauce they give with is really makes a difference.
3 people ate for under $20 too! Can't go wrong there

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ButteryBiscuitBase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“cheap, typical asean food”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We sought a "low calorie" dinner and found it here. We both had a large bowl of noodle soup, with prawns or beef, and tea. The waiter explained us how to compose our meal with additional herbs. The restaurant is run by Vietnamese, and the taste was really authentic South-East Asean (I have to admit that we never visited Vietnam, but Thailand is known territory for us). We had to pay about $21.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JaapK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pho Ca Dao & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Pho Ca Dao & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing