We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Date Night Extrodinaire”
Review of The Kitchen

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Kitchen
Ranked #2,072 of 5,746 Restaurants in San Diego
Restaurant details
Reviewed May 11, 2019

Great meals for $16 apiece, fantastic pasta specials and pannis, reasonable good wine, fantastic ambiance, places to stroll around. Can't wait for mothers day fair this Sunday. This kitchen is much better than the last restaurant that was here. See my Bernardo Winery review for the full deal.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lost_bobcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 5 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2018

This is a safe ,comfortable, date night location in Rancho Bernardo. All the visitors to the winery seem to be enjoying themselves. The food is from old family recipes and they just added pizzas on Friday and Saturday nights. The salmon skewer was good and the sandwiches(paninis) were large. The winery wines are constantly changing.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2018

We enjoy working our way around the menu to see whats new. We've tried pastas, meatballs, salmon skewers, and different wines. The new pizza oven is a welcome addition. The winery environment is a real plus. It's a safe, interesting place for couples to go on a date. Live music on weekends.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Klickitat23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2018

A friend and I had lunch on the patio yesterday. Nice place to relax and visit. The server was friendly and helpful. We both ordered Chicken paninis. They’re a good size and delicious. You have a choice of sides and we both chose French fries, I love crispy fries, these were right up there with the best. I would like to have lingered and had desert but I was to full. Very pleasant experience, looking forward to doing it again soon.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2018

I understand the owner's pride in improvements made to the former Merlot Cafe at the Rancho Bernardo Winery, which now offers old family recipe Italian entrees. We have enjoyed visiting Bernardo Winery for years, and have eaten at the former Merlot Cafe dozens of times, always enjoying the meals and the wine.

We have now tried the revamped The Kitchen on three visits. Unfortunately, we will not likely return. As noted, we have now visited the revamped venue three times, and have not yet had an enjoyable meal. Perhaps, if we were more Italian, we would feel better about the meal selections. Perhaps we expected a wider choice - such traditional Italian choices as chicken or veal parmesan, or even a basic red sauce spaghetti would be more appetizing. Or, perhaps they could offer a few other basic or traditional American choices not so Italian, more like what was available at the old Merlot Cafe.

For example, two weekends ago our bill came to $70, but after one bite, we left all the food. As always, the wine was excellent, but our chances of enjoying our kind of a meal at the Bernardo Winery now seem to have past.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Service
    • Food
Thank OldBigBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kitchen also viewed

 
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to The Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing