We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Quesadilla!”
Review of La Puerta

La Puerta
Ranked #96 of 5,479 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Reviewed April 12, 2017

I stopped in for lunch at the end of my business trip because our large work group couldn't get in for dinner and we heard it was good. The quesadilla was delicious and huge! Together with a beer it was the perfect lunch. The ambiance is typical bar/restaurant - go here for the food, it's worth it!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank barbarabL4810BQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritte P, Owner at La Puerta, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2017

Thanks for sharing your awesome experience with us, Barbara! It's exciting to know that you enjoyed the perfectly filling lunch with us and that you loved every bite of our delicious quesadilla. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (863)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

262 - 266 of 863 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2017

Yum yum Mexican food...and half price drinks and apps on Monday. Not the best place to watch a game...they keep loud music on during sport events on TV. I hate that. Nice attentive wait staff.

Thank flosue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritte P, Owner at La Puerta, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2017

Thanks for sharing a review with us! We're so glad you dropped by for our epic Monday Happy Hour and enjoyed some awesome service from our team. We appreciate your feedback on the loud music and will definitely look into this. Hope you'll stop by again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2017

Went for dinner but was early enough for Happy Hour and after two Margaritas each, Guacamole and chips, and the Quesadillas...we were nicely fed and feeling good! The Quesadillas had to have been the best we have had in a very long time.

Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritte P, Owner at La Puerta, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2017

Muchas gracias, Joanne! It's exciting to know that you had a blast during our happy hour and were able to enjoy our famous guac, margaritas & delicious quesadillas. It's amazing to hear that you found our quesadillas the best you've tried! We hope you'll drop by and grub with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2017 via mobile

Had a very enjoyable meal this week at La Puerta. I was advised to arrive at least 30 mins prior to my desired seating time, as La Puerta doesn't take reservations and is located in the popular Gaslight section of San Diego. As unstructes, we arrived early but were immediatley seated on this Wednesday evening. The house margarita was tasty and complemented the guacamole and chips appetizer. La Puerta has an extensive list of tequilas as well. We both enjoyed tacos of varnitas and carne asada. Well seasoned meat served in a trio of palm sized corn tortillas. Given an opportunity, I would certainly return here.

Thank Ralee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritte P, Owner at La Puerta, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2017

Thanks for sharing your awesome experience with us! It's always exciting to hear that the wait was short & that you were able to dive right into the good stuff with us. From our fresh margs to well-seasoned carne asada, we're so happy that you loved your time here. Hope to see you again soon in America's Finest City!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2017 via mobile

We stopped by after taking in a ball game at Petco Park. It was a 15 minute wait to get in, but well worth it. It had a good atmosphere after the game, and the service was fast, friendly and helpful. Waitress recommended the guacamole appetizer which you have to try. Best I've had. Will be back again tonight.

Thank Gypsy_Adventure1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritte P, Owner at La Puerta, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2017

That's what we like to hear! It's awesome to hear that our team's service was on point on a busy day and that you loved our famous guacamole appetizer. Next time you swing by, be sure to give our refreshing margaritas a shot!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Puerta also viewed

 

Been to La Puerta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing