We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com$132
Priceline$132
Residence Inn$132
FindHotel$132
Orbitz.com$132
Travelocity$132
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,512)
Filter reviews
1,512 results
Traveler rating
896
435
112
34
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
896
435
112
34
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews petco park convention center gaslamp quarter great location front desk full size refrigerator valet parking restaurants and bars small kitchen one bedroom suite breakfast staff walking distance valet staff yogurt hot breakfast the gas lamp district business trip
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
110 - 115 of 1,512 reviews
Reviewed January 17, 2019

Over $200 a night and they still charge $48 for parking and even $3.50 for the bottled water in the fridge. There are better hotels for cheaper prices in San Diego. They probably treat their customers as if they would like them to return as well.

Room tip: Bring ear plugs.
Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank BrianR1687
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi S, Operations Supervisor at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2019

Dear BrianR1687,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter. We greatly appreciate your honest feedback.

With a mission to provide the highest possible level of hospitality, we take great pride in serving your needs and are saddened to hear that we have not met your expectations. Please know that we have forwarded your comments to the appropriate departments to ensure your concerns are heard and evaluated. Thank you for providing feedback as we continue to improve our services to meet the needs of our valued guests.

Thank you for staying at the Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter. We hope to better serve you the next time you find yourself in San Diego's Gaslamp Quarter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2019

Good service and friendly personnel. Parking is expensive.Room is clean and breakfast is good and has several options.Recommended to expend some time with your love ones, get related with the city since there are several options.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Extraordinary459941
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi S, Operations Supervisor at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2019

Dear Extraordinary459941,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent experience at the Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter.

We're so glad to hear that our staff made your stay positive from arrival to departure. Our guests' overall satisfaction is so important to each and every one of us.

On behalf of everyone at the Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter, thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent travels. We hope you choose to stay with us the next time you find yourself in San Diego's downtown area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2019

This hotel is in a fantastic location for almost anything you want to do in San Diego. Plenty of great restaurants and the waterfront area are within walking distance. Petco Park too, obviously. So as far as location goes, it’s outstanding.

That being said, note that it is in the middle of the Gaslamp District and will have the corresponding noise issues, especially on the weekend. If that is of concern, go elsewhere. If not, this works.

The property is older and it is obvious in the rooms. The furniture, dressers, drawers, etc. are all showing age. Also, the room we had was quite dark, even with all the lights on. During the day, no problem but at night it is dingy.

The bed and the sofa sleeper were both comfortable.

There was no ventilation at all in the bathroom and the lights over the sink were sufficient. Shower was great though!

The kitchen with oven, large fridge, etc., would be handy if you are staying for a good amount of time. Free breakfast was tasty. Sometimes crowded but that is typical of any free breakfast. Staff in the breakfast area were great!

The lobby is large and open. Staff were all quite friendly. Parking on site was $48 per night—probably typical of the area. Of course, San Diego can be easily visited without a car using your feet and Uber/Lyft.

I would consider staying here again if there price was good but it is far from the only option in the area.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gramps25
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carissa L, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2019

Gramps25,

Thank you for the wonderful review! We know there are plenty of options when traveling to San Diego and are thankful you decided to give the Residence Inn Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter a chance. We hope you enjoyed your time and sure hope to serve you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2019

Everything was great from the moment that I walked in. The staff was very happy and left a great initial impression. The lobby was well decorated and had a welcoming feeling. The elevators were clean and dependable. My room was very well laid out and was very clean. The exercise area was useful and had a great view.

Room tip: A mint on the pillow.
Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dreamer46726862092
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi S, Operations Supervisor at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2019

Dear Dreamer46726862092,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent experience at the Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter.

We're so glad to hear that our staff made your stay positive from arrival to departure. Our guests' overall satisfaction is incredibly important to each and every one of us.

On behalf of everyone at the Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter, thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent travels. We hope you choose to stay with us the next time you find yourself in San Diego's downtown area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2019

The location was perfect. The room was clean and met our needs. Only complaint was that the blanket (duvet) was extremely thin and dingy. Park in garage 1 block south of hotel which was $15 for 24 hours versus $46 at the hotel.

Room tip: Would have been nice to have had a view of the street to watch the downtown activity.
Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nobadday
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi S, Operations Supervisor at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2019

Dear carolrA8435NV,

Thank you for writing a review regarding your recent experience at the Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter.

While I'm glad to see you enjoyed your stay, I am sorry to hear that you did not care for the in-room duvet. I'll be sure to share your feedback with the appropriate hotel team members to ensure that we are consistently putting the highest quality linen in our guest rooms.

Once again, thank you for your review. We hope you choose to stay with us the next time you choose to visit San Diego's historic Gaslamp Quarter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews