We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Ranked #37 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

5 stars for friendly, helpful service housekeepers, breakfast staff, front desk, valet. 5 stars for room- modern throughout, decor, clean, quiet walls/ceiling, kitchen appliances. 5 stars for location-in the middle of Gas Lamp, walk to Convention Center in under 5 min. 5 stars for hotel amenities- nice gym, free breakfast, free wifi, pool. Had a great stay here!

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank danemoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Property Coordinator at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review about our property! We are still the newest hotel in the Gaslamp, so experiences like yours really help us make a name for ourselves! We hope you visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    651
    345
    82
    19
    17
See reviews for
221
286
58
416
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

We have stayed at several hotels with great service but what we have experienced today is exceptional!!! Cathy Schultz is superb!!! She went beyond our expectations with service and hospitality. We felt really special this time even if we are frequent guests of Marriott.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank casadecruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Property Coordinator at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences with the Trip Advisor community! We really appreciate your feedback. Cathy is one of our amazing guest service agents! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

My room really had the "wow" factor. It was very spacioius. The bed was amazingly comfortable. I was there for a 4 day meeting and found the entire hotel to be perfect for our event. The location was within walking distance to everything. We went out each night and tried different restaurants and even walked to the mall to do some shopping! The staff was very friendly from the General Manager, the banquet staff member, Maria, to the restaurant supervisor, Joanne. I would stay here again. I enjoy the gaslamp district and look forward to returning for a leisure stay next time!

Room Tip: I had a corner room and it was larger than my collegues room down the hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyW2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Property Coordinator at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your experience and your meeting rental perspective with the TripAdvisor community! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stayed at this location to attend a friend's wedding. The location of the hotel is great. Right in the heart of the trendy Gaslamp Quarter. We were also really close to the city's trolley system. The staff of the hotel was very friendly and helped us navigate our way to a few tourists destinations.

The rooms are well equipped and nicely decorated. I really liked having the kitchenette. It made the trip easier. The breakfast at the hotel was very good, with a much larger selection of food items than I anticipated. There were eggs, bacon, waffles, oatmeal, bagels, yogurt, fresh fruit, and more! There is a pool, but it's pretty small. I still enjoyed a morning swim though!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Property Coordinator at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time and sharing your experiences with the TripAdvisor community! We hope that you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

The residence inn in San Diego was in a great location. Close to major attractions some even walking distance. Plenty of restaurants.The staff was friendly. Hotel and room was clean. Complimentary, Breakfast every morning was a plus. If needed, the room had a complete kitchen with pots, dishes, etc.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esther S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Property Coordinator at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review about our hotel! We are still the newest hotel in the Gaslamp Quarter, and so experiences like yours really helps us! We hope you visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We went down for a Giants game at Petco Park (5 min walk to the ballpark) and was looking for a reasonably priced hotel near the ballpark. This one fit the bill. It is a newer property and the location was great. We flew into SAN from San Francisco and didn't get a car. The cab ride was about $25 with tip. If you do get a car the hotel will charge you $40/night for parking so beware.

The room was clean and a good size with a full kitchen and all the essential utensils necessary for cooking if you needed to. With all the nearby food we didn't have to do any cooking and didn't want to on our weekend getaway. You are surrounded by good food so that isn't a problem. Just walk out the main door and you'll find something for everyone. The complementary breakfast at the hotel is not so good but it's free so don't expect anything special with your normal fare (cereals, oatmeal, waffles, fruit and some hot stuff) BUT they do have a self serve soda machine and juice so the kids might enjoy that.

This is the hotel to stay in if you are going to Petco Park. While we looked at the Omni, and the Marriot which is across the street from the Residence Inn, the price was right for this hotel. We are coming back in Sept. for another Giants game. We paid $125/night using our AAA discount. Oh yeah, just in case you're a toiletry snob like I am, they have Paul Mitchell products.....YAY!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mustluvdogs0207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Property Coordinator at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you so much for your response, we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Residence Inn San Diego Downtown Gaslamp Quarter. Our property is in a prime location and are pleased that our guests always have several options to chose from. We hope you will return and get to use our full size kitchen for some cooking. Thank you so much and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsburg, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

I stayed at the Residence Inn Gaslamp for a week long training a few weeks ago and it was a wonderful experience. From the moment I walked in the doors and into my beautiful suite until the moment I sadly had to leave I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. I really can't think of one negative thing to say about this Hotel. The breakfast, and other food provided was excellent and well managed. The Staff was really stellar and very accommodating. And of course the location can't be beat! We walked everywhere in the Gaslamp District and found so many great local restaurants and bars. I liked the Tipsy Crow the best :). If I ever find myself back in San Diego this will be the only place I will stay. Thank you everyone for your dedication to great service!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank junicorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Property Coordinator at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences with the TripAdvisor community! We are so glad that you enjoyed yourself and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
#17 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter

Property: Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Address: 356 6th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Gaslamp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in San Diego
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#33 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embodies the urban and eclectic styles of the modern-day Gaslamp Quarter. Guests enjoy the residential feel and strong sense of space in a comfortable and progressive setting. Start your day with complimentary hot breakfast, stay connected with complimentary high-speed-internet-access and step out into the vibrancy of downtown. Conveniently located just 2 blocks from the Convention Center and PETCO Park. Relax by the lobby fireplace and rooftop pool, rejuvenate in the fitness center and full-service lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing