We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wicked good in San Diego”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Ranked #41 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Newmarket, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wicked good in San Diego”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Could not say anything bad about this place. All the staff were great; front desk, kitchen staff for breakfast, the bar staff in the restaurant, the maintenance staff kept the gym and pool clean, neat, and running. The maid service was great but, I didn't have them clean my room to much though, I keep it clean on my own mostly. the valet staff are fast, prompt, nice and funny. Your in the middle of the Gaslamp Quarter, it historical and party central w/ lots of bars, shops, restaurants, right near the local trolley station. Downtown can get crowed and noisy at times and driving can get nerve racking and impatience but at the hotel you can barely hear traffic and just relax in the great atmosphere. By the way, Mari Paula, on the breakfast staff just want to let you know she is the reason I am doing a review. She is always helping me in some way in the mornings. Room service didn't get a score because I didn't use it.

Room Tip: If you want a good view get a room above the fifth floor. Want quick access to lobby, pool, ground f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dragon002247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Property Coordinator at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Hello dragon002247,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review for our lovely hotel! Here at the Residence Inn Gaslamp we strive to give all of our guests "Service So Memorable." I'm so glad that you were able to testify to that! Thank you again for your time and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    671
    361
    85
    21
    19
See reviews for
232
297
60
434
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We were greeted by name and room ready early. Very comfortable and clean. Staff very pleasant. Great location walk to gaslamp district restaurants wonderfully close and delicious. Would highly recommend and return again.

Room Tip: By being a Marriott member it helps get better deals and room location
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Property Coordinator at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Hello Linda,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us such a great recommendation! We appreciate your business and we hope to host your next visit to San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed in a room with an adjoining kitchenette which was really useful when we just wanted to cook a light dinner for ourselves. They have an awesome breakfast buffet and I gave the waffle maker a workout every morning. Maripaula was very diligent about making sure everything was running smoothly. The hotel is conveniently located close to the convention center and a bunch of terrific places in the Gaslamp area. And a shout-out for the valet guys as well; they were fast and courteous. I highly recommend this place if you are staying in San Diego.

Room Tip: Rooms with cooking facilities are useful if you don't want to eat out all the time. You get a de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Connecticut, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I just stayed at the Residence Inn while in San Diego for a convention. It's in the Gaslamp Quarter, just two blocks from the convention center. Huge, modern rooms, a pool, and the best free breakfast I've ever had at a hotel. Seriously, this breakfast was incredible; biscuits and gravy, French toast, sausage hash, and all the usual cereal, muffins, and bagels. Just great. The staff was also unfailingly friendly. Just a great experience from arrival to checkout!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Great combination of convenient location and convenient features. Very quick walk to the convention center, ballpark, local shopping, and even a nice grocery store. Friendly, helpful staff at the door, front desk, and breakfast center.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rsvl404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Had a wonderful "staycation" at the Residence Inn Gaslamp from Mid September to early November. The staff was friendly and went out of their way to make us feel at home. In the mezzanine area Kimmie , Maria Paula, Angel Blanca Vanessa and Pedro.
In Housekeeping Elizabeth met us with a smile each day.
The Valet were helpful and pleasant.
Thank you for excellent customer service.
We enjoyed the restaurants and shops that were in walking distance of our Hotel. We also went to a Padre game at Petco Park and visited the new SDPL Central Library.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janice t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2013

First and foremost, the staff were amazing. This is what really made this property unique and special. They were amazing from housekeeping to front desk, especially Danielle and Ryan. Maria was excellent in the breakfast area and as our meeting room concierge. What a great team atmosphere. The rooms were clean and quiet. The location was great in a quieter area of Gaslamp but still easily accessible to walk to unique shops and restaurants. Thanks for a great stay Residence Inn!

Room Tip: Elevator is very fast so it doesn't matter which floor you're on. Meeting rooms were fantast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carolyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#42 of 278 in San Diego
1,979 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Gaslamp/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter

Property: Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Address: 356 6th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-7186
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Gaslamp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in San Diego
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#33 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embodies the urban and eclectic styles of the modern-day Gaslamp Quarter. Guests enjoy the residential feel and strong sense of space in a comfortable and progressive setting. Start your day with complimentary hot breakfast, stay connected with complimentary high-speed-internet-access and step out into the vibrancy of downtown. Conveniently located just 2 blocks from the Convention Center and PETCO Park. Relax by the lobby fireplace and rooftop pool, rejuvenate in the fitness center and full-service lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing