We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Treated us like royalty.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Ranked #28 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
1 review
“Treated us like royalty.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We (my husband, my 7 month old and I) stayed here during a trip to California last month and I was very impressed. In the blur of planning I booked the wrong hotel and had actually reserved a stay at the Marriot HOTEL, not the Residence Inn, but when we arrived on site and found out the staff was more than willing to assist us in the switch.
I called and spoke to Denee Kane and she not only transferred the reservation but walked me through the whole process and was a life saver! The whole team was delightful and truly helpful, from the front desk staff to the valet attendants. We will be staying here every year when we take our yearly pilgrimage to San Diego!
I cannot say enough about these guys! Thank you for making a great trip even better!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    637
    335
    82
    15
    16
See reviews for
219
277
56
403
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

This hotel is nicely located in the Gaslamp district and only 5 minutes walk from the conference center. Rooms are very nice and very clean with great amenities. Breakfast buffet in the morning has a nice range of variety.
I would highly recommend this for any conference trip to San Diego.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PlanetGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We got to the hotel too early to check in so Deardre at the front desk gave us a map of the area and suggested we check out the Waterfront area. Which we did. It was great. She expedited getting our room ready so we were able to check in when we got back. She took really good care of us as did other staff members. Everybody was very friendly. The Hotel is very pretty and comfortable. It is well located and we were able to walk everywhere. I definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fwagner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burbank, california
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel based on the reviews here and we were not disappointed. From the moment you are greeted by the friendly valet staff to check out this property did not miss a step. Anita at check in was pleasant and efficient. I told her my husband and I were celebrating our birthday's and she arranged for free drinks in the bar for us...nice touch. The room was very clean and well appointed. The free breakfast is great, tons to eat and the staff there are exceptional. I never saw so many smiling faces early in the morning. My only complaint would be the shampoo and conditioner are in very, very, small bottles and there is no lotion. I know the parking is expensive but it is in most major cities and there are cheaper options close by. I would recommend this hotel to all.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa Park, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

The front desk was excellent! They even sent notes to our room and called our room to make sure everything was o.k.

Special thanks go to Nina Heck, Food and Beverage Manager. She made my wife and I feel special and very comfortable on a busy night.

Keep up the great work! Everything was neat, clean, and fun.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank technologypaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed for a week and was an excellent choice because of the location, however due to the fact that it s located in the heart of Gaslamp Quater there were two different street party, where they close the street and accessibility back to the hotel can be annoying and stressful as you have to go around and around...Rooms are nice and clean, fresh bedding and courteous staff, special recognition to Elizabeth in Housekeeping Dpt. and Denei at Front Desk for giving accurate information on how to use public transportation. Valet staff were courteous as well, some may open the door for you, others just ignore your presence. Included breakfast was a plus and Kitchen staff work very hard and diligent, they are very pleasant and always with a smile. They do work as a team. Two thumbs up for you all. Plenty of Restaurant, shops and sightseeing to do around!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JorgeL2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

The hotel staff was excellent. I especially would like to commend Anail from the breakfast service, Kimmie from the evening socials, and Sara from the front desk. These three individuals made the 5 weeks that I spent there most enjoyable. The bright smiles each morning and evening were something to look forward to each day.

The location of the hotel made getting to all areas of San Diego easy. The one block walk to Petco Park made attending ball games easy. The choice of eateries with in walking distance was endless. The valet service was timely.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
#17 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Downtown
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#14 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter

Property: Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Address: 356 6th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Gaslamp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in San Diego
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#33 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embodies the urban and eclectic styles of the modern-day Gaslamp Quarter. Guests enjoy the residential feel and strong sense of space in a comfortable and progressive setting. Start your day with complimentary hot breakfast, stay connected with complimentary high-speed-internet-access and step out into the vibrancy of downtown. Conveniently located just 2 blocks from the Convention Center and PETCO Park. Relax by the lobby fireplace and rooftop pool, rejuvenate in the fitness center and full-service lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing