We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Ranked #45 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The staff went out of their way to make my stay as comfortable as possible. They were warm and friendly, and before long I felt like I was a neighbor rather than a guest. If travels ever take me to San Diego again, I know where I will be staying.

Room Tip: Upper levels may have less street noise.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,188)
There are newer reviews for Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

896 - 902 of 1,188 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2012

This is my second stay at this hotel and after the first stay there was no question that if I returned to the area this is where I would stay again. Great location - walking distance to restaurants, specialty shops, baseball stadium and marina. Rooms are clean, quiet and beds are comfortable. The staff is amazing - especially Mona who went out of her way to make sure my stay was the best it could be! If I return to the area, I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Stayed here for three nights as the start of my elopement/honeymoon in the Southern California area at the start of November, we also had our best man staying here three nights. The staff on site during the day was great, friendly, attentive and helpful, unfortunately, from the afternoon on, a second crew takes over. The evening staff is terrible, the front desk staff and valet/bell boys are constantly chatting with each other, ignoring people entering and leaving the building and it's just disappointing to see as a Platinum Marriott Rewards member, as I've stayed in countless Marriott's and expect a certain level of professionalism from the staff. We were especially put off by the way the evening valets counted every tip we gave them in front of us and scoffed, laughed and made faces at each other if they felt it wasn't enough. $50 a night for valet parking is BEYOND outrageous, there's a parking garage RIGHT NEXT DOOR that costs HALF the price, FYI.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jesse N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

This is a a well maintained Residence Inn that is in a great location for sight seeing in San Diego. It has a small roof top pool and workout facility. They provide light evening receptions during the week. Housekeeping staff does a fantastic job. You can walk to transit, the convention center, the ball park and more.The Gaslamp district is something to see in and of itself. There are restaurants in every direction! The service was fantastic and friendly!

Room Tip: Higher up and away from the elevators.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kimflwrpwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

If you are going to stay in the Gaslamp Quarter, definitely consider this property. It is located in the center of the Gaslamp, easy walking distance to tons of great restaurants, bars and the marina. The USS Midway is about a 20 min walk. Across the street is The Palm Steakhouse and around the corner is Fleming's and Morton's, if you are looking for a fine dining steakhouse. Otherwise, there are tons of eateries, more than you can even imagine.

The property is very clean, comfortable and each room provides a full or partial kitchen with all utensils, pots and pans, coffee pot, toaster and dishes, if you were in the mood to cook in your room (long stay conventioneers find this a big plus). Excellent full liquor (premium top shelf liquor i.e.. Gray Goose, Maker's Mark, etc) bar that serves a variety of hot bar food, all excellent in flavor and quality at a great price. Smaller pool on the roof, in-house laundry matt and gym. A buffet breakfast is provided, but I did not utilize. The "Broken Yolk" breakfast/lunch establishment is right across the street, good grub. No room service.

Very accommodating staff, special kudos to "Anita," she is a great asset to Marriott. If you plan on staying local to the Gaslamp, you will not need a car. Amtrak is a $7.00 cab ride and the Red Line city transpiration rail system is just blocks away. Otherwise, Valet parking is about $35 a night (standard fee for the area). The ballpark is two blocks away. When comparing hotel price at the Marriott Marina and Marriott Gaslamp, this Residence Inn provides the best value and perks. If I am in town just for the Gaslamp eateries, I will stay at this property and never give it a second thought.

Room Tip: Hotel was built in late 90's, well insulated. I had no sound problems from street traffic. Top f...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We were so impressed with this Hotel. On arrival the check in staff were friendly and helpful, totally engaging in helping with our stay in San Diego.
The room was extremely clean and very comfortably set out.
We enjoyed the free full breakfast on the 2nd floor every morning and also dinner in the foyer Bar one evening.
All the staff we came in contact with were so friendly it really stayed with us.
San Diego was such a great place to visit.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 9th floor, it was so quiet we thought we were the only people there, however, th...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RodnJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

My husband, 2 year old daughter and I checked in to this hotel on Thanksgiving day. The staff is excellent and the service is great. The bartender, valet staff and the front desk were wonderful to us. Everything that we needed was provided to us. I forgot to drink my coffee and when it became cold, the bartender went out of his way to go one floor up to the kitchen to warm it up for me. At 10PM, when we needed milk for my daughter, the front desk staff brought it up to our room. The valet staff is exceptional, very attentive and caring. Breakfast items changed daily and the ktichen staff are very courteous and attentive to our needs. Kudos to this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veenaUnioncity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#39 of 278 in San Diego
2,026 reviews
Downtown
Pendry San Diego
Pendry San Diego
#2 of 278 in San Diego
238 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter

Address: 356 6th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-7186
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Gaslamp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in San Diego
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#33 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $180 - $402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embodies the urban and eclectic styles of the modern-day Gaslamp Quarter. Guests enjoy the residential feel and strong sense of space in a comfortable and progressive setting. Start your day with complimentary hot breakfast, stay connected with complimentary high-speed-internet-access and step out into the vibrancy of downtown. Conveniently located just 2 blocks from the Convention Center and PETCO Park. Relax by the lobby fireplace and rooftop pool, rejuvenate in the fitness center and full-service lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing