We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Ranked #40 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We loved the property! The workout room was super and had a nice pool. The staff did an outstanding job. The rooms were excellent, modern, and up to date. The building was very secure, requiring a room key to operate the elevators past the lobby. Petco Park was only a block and a half away. The gaslamp district was lots of fun, shopping, eating, and places to party. A very urban, clean, and wonderful setting.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dcsteve56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

969 - 975 of 1,232 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2012

If all the Residence Inn rooms were this lovely and liveable I'd never stay anywhere else. In the heart of the Gaslamp Quarter - which I found to be wonderfully lively without being crazy. Mona at the Front Desk was so helpful on the phone and then we had the pleasure of meeting her when we checked in.

DIdn't go to the pool, which was quite small. Just an FYI if that is what you are looking for.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SouthernNotStupid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

My Fiancé and I stayed at the Gas Lamp Quarter Residence Inn in San Diego for 4 nights during our recent trip to the USA. It was our first stop on the trip and proved to be the best hotel of all we stayed in. The room was a standard room but had plenty of space with a king bed, sofa, chair, mini-kitchen and a very clean bathroom with a large shower. We also enjoyed the free wi-fi throughout the building and the food both at breakfast, which had great variation and at the bar which does tasty snacks & cocktails. I also tried out the pool which is more of a small dip pool but perfectly pleasant. The hotel is well located for enjoyable nights out in the friendly and a short drive away from Balboa Park and the Zoo. All the staff are helpful and pleasant, from the front desk, to the maids, to the valets we always felt welcomed. It only loses a point because at busy times the breakfast area does not have enough seating and my fiancée would have preferred to be able to park the car himself but that wasn't an option. A thoroughly enjoyable stay overall.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KrazyAngelKat81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

THANK YOU. The service you provided goes beyond excellence. Aside from your impeccable service, your attitude, demeanor, and generous smiles made my weekend stay such a wonderful time despite my sadness that my son did not waiver in his decision to join the navy. He was sworn in and left for bootcamp that weekend. Your infectious warmth helped me stay focused on, and not lose sight of the blessings in my life and my son's.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trish f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

It all started with the wonderful experience when I pulled up and was warmly welcomed by the valet attendant. I then entered the doors and got checked in and had a nice talk with the Front Desk clerk named Remington or "Remi" as she called herself. She was very nice, and kept a great conversation giving all the important information about the property as well. She did a great job with the process and we got the customer service that is expected. We then asked for suggestions for dinner and she sent us to the Oceanaire Restaurant; which was outstanding. That evening we also met Nicolette("Nicki") and she was a charm as well. The staff through out the hotel is what made this property stand out from the rest of Downtown hotels. I was very pleased with my stay and would be happy to return to this hotel if another trip to San Diego is made.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We recently stayed at the Residence Inn Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter on 8/27-8/30. Great location on 6th Avenue - literally a block away from Petco Park if you want to catch a baseball game and great selection of shopping and dining on 5th Avenue. The trolley stops are nearby as well, although we did not utlize the trolley we did have a car and there were a lot of places within walking distance.

If you do have a car, the parking is quite pricey at $38 per day, although this appears the normal rate in this part of town. You get in-and-out privileges and it is valet. There are other places to park nearby that are not as pricey, but you do not have in-and-out privileges. Access to major freeways is relatively close, whether going north, south or east.

We had a room with a queen bed and kitchen. There is a two burner electric stovetop, full size microwave oven, dishes, utensils, pots, pans and knives, as well as a a sink with garbage disposal and a full size refrigerator with ice maker, so no need to go down the hall to get ice. The kitchen amenities were useful (especially the refrigerator which kept our drinks nice and cold) but there were a lot of late night dining options available outside the hotel so we did not use the kitchen that much.

The living area is quite cramped, but I guess we were spoiled from staying at the more spacious all-suite Embassy Suites prior to checking in here. The bathroom was spacious enough but the sink area is located outside of the bathroom and is quite cramped and not well-lit. There is a couch and table to do work on, but no separation between sleeping area and living area. Again, I was spoiled by the Embassy Suites.

Internet is complimentary which is always a plus. There is free breakfast which includes hot items such as scrambled eggs, sausage, breakfast burritos, fruits, breads, cereal, juice, soda, coffee. The evening reception is kind of limited, though. I would not count on that to fill you up for the evening. Just snacks and drinks.

All in all, a pleasant stay. Great location, friendly service.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bububear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This 2 year old property happily welcomed us and our 2 Golden Retrievers for the Labor Day weekend. Having a full kitchen in the room as well as complimentary breakfast was nice. The staff were all extremely friendly. The location is great - right in the heart of the Gaslamp District. If you are traveling with your pets, keep in mind that it is at least a one block walk to an area for the pets to relieve themselves (it is also a $100 fee). The $38/day valet only parking cost is a rediculous. Otherwise a great experience.

Room Tip: Althought these are "suites" the rooms are small. The pullout bed literally touches the re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cuz29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Downtown
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
SpringHill Suites San Diego Downtown/Bayfront
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter

Address: 356 6th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-7186
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Gaslamp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in San Diego
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#33 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $138 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embodies the urban and eclectic styles of the modern-day Gaslamp Quarter. Guests enjoy the residential feel and strong sense of space in a comfortable and progressive setting. Start your day with complimentary hot breakfast, stay connected with complimentary high-speed-internet-access and step out into the vibrancy of downtown. Conveniently located just 2 blocks from the Convention Center and PETCO Park. Relax by the lobby fireplace and rooftop pool, rejuvenate in the fitness center and full-service lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Marriott, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing