We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel for downtown Gaslamp District” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Ranked #34 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel for downtown Gaslamp District”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

I booked our weekend stay here and was pleasantly surprised by hotel (being in a busy downtown area). Rooms are beautiful, sound proof and very well maintained. Breakfast was plentiful and offered a nice variety of items. Parking is expensive but there are other offsite options close by. Walking distance to some of the best restaurants in San Diego, Petco Park and convention center.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MtgPlannerLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    645
    338
    82
    17
    17
See reviews for
220
281
57
409
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

My wife and I went on a quick 1 week vacation to San Diego. We stayed 3 nights at this hotel at the beginning of our trip, left travelling for 2 nights and then returned for our last night before flying out.

The front desk staff was extremely courteous and professional. They made is really feel at home and were very helpful in all regards.

I got a great AAA rate when I booked online not expecting too much. On arrival and check in I felt I had hit the jackpot. This hotel has a simple but elegant feel. Our suite was comfortable and clean. The exercise facility and pool area were well maintained and perfect for our purposes.

We never made use of the lobby bar but others seemed to be enjoying it.

The daily, included breakfast, exceeded our expectations with hot scrambled eggs, potatoes & meats. Additionally there was assortment of cereals, yogurts, breads, juices and coffee. There was always a selection of fresh fruit too.

The location is right in the middle of the trendy Gaslamp Quarter with scores of restaurants, bars and shops in the immediate area. It's a short walk to the convention center and has easy access to buses and the tram for longer trips.

Even though it was in a busy area it was very quite in our room.

I would definitely stay here again - especially if I got the great rate again!

Room Tip: We chose a higher floor so we would not hear street noise. It was very quite but I suspect that migh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

Parking is downside of hotel. Other than that everything else was fabulous. The location was a plus. Breakfast was a nice touch and the food kept coming.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ITravel4Business_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

This hotel far exceeds other Residence Inns. It has an excellent location: right in the heart of the Gaslamp District, and is modern, clean, and has a friendly staff. The hotel has valet parking, but you can park right across the street for at least $10 less (lot only accepts cash payment). The rooms are modern and clean. I had a Queen-sized bed; I'd make sure you get a King. They offer all the kitchen amenities as well. Free breakfast and weekday evening snacks are also a plus and a great incentive over other hotels. The breakfast offers eggs, potatoes, oatmeal, bagels, cereal, yogurt, fruit, etc. The gym and pool are located on the rooftop of its third floor. The gym is small, but overlooks the crowds in the Gaslamp and each cardio machine offers its own tv. I will definitely stay at this hotel again. It offers a great value over others in the area.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Desertdiva24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2011

Everything about my stay at the Residence Inn was amazing. My sister and I were visiting San Diego in November. We choose the hotel for it's great location and closeness to the convention center, which was only a 4 block walk away. From the beginning the staff at the hotel was friendly and helpful. The bell boys, front desk staff, maid service and morning breakfast staff all made our stay at the hotel amazing. The area in itself was also great. The Gas Lamp is a busy area with numerous restaurants for eating and stores to shop in. In the evening many of the homeless come out, which makes the area seem a little seedy, but I've heard this is the case all over California.

We arrived at the hotel early for check in, but the staff was happy to give us a room. We had booked a King bed, but our room had a Queen. When we mentioned this to the staff they were more than happy to change us to a room with a bigger bed. The rooms themselves were beautiful. From the decor to the kitchen, which had every tool and device I could ask for, the room was contemporary and comfortable. Being from NY I can tell you that the entire room would be the envy of any resident used to small apartment living. One of the other reasons we chose the hotel was for the morning breakfast that was included. I had to arrive early at the convention so I didn't want the hassle of trying to find someplace to eat. I was pleasantly surprised at the diversity of the food that was offered. They had different types of hot/cold cereal, breads, hot eggs, sausage and a waffle maker so you can custom make your own waffles. Of course, coffee/tea and various juices. All presented in a very clean and pleasant atmosphere, albeit a little small for the number of people that were staying at the hotel.

At the end of our stay, checkout was a breeze. I had an early morning flight to catch and had to leave before breakfast. When I inquired about where I could get breakfast before leaving they told me not to worry. The breakfast attendant was there and he made me up a box of food to take with me on my trip home. It was so very nice of them.

If I return to San Diego I will definitely be staying at the Residence Inn again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NYtraveler247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 739 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

One word description - wow!

We stayed here over Christmas 2011 and despite the hotel being fully booked with tons of dogs and kids, the staff was absolutely amazing!

The front desk and bell stand were not just staffed but over-staffed. We never had to stand in line for long without someone answering our questions.

Our room was very comfortable and quiet even though we were surrounded by neighbors.

The complimentary breakfast was terrific but the staff could not keep up with the demand during prime eating times over the holiday weekend. It probably also didn't help that kids were running wild and grabbing things off the buffet left and right without adult supervision. Is a 5 year old really going to eat 4 yogurts? No, he didn't and I'm sure other guests would have appreciated the excess.

The place if very dog friendly. You pay $50 for the privilege of staying with your dog and you get nothing in return like a pet goody bag offered by other hotels.

Tip: The bar lobby is totally dog friendly. You can enjoy drinks and appetizers with your pooches. The bartender had two dogs of her own and she was terrific about coming over to socialize with our dogs so we had great service.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WISCGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Worth
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

This is the nicest Residence Inn I've ever stayed in. Beautiful lobby and friendly, helpful staff.

Room was comfortable and had everything we needed.

Hotel is within walking distance to all the Gaslamp Quarter has to offer.

Free breakfast was great!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
#18 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Downtown
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#14 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter

Property: Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Address: 356 6th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Gaslamp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in San Diego
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#33 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embodies the urban and eclectic styles of the modern-day Gaslamp Quarter. Guests enjoy the residential feel and strong sense of space in a comfortable and progressive setting. Start your day with complimentary hot breakfast, stay connected with complimentary high-speed-internet-access and step out into the vibrancy of downtown. Conveniently located just 2 blocks from the Convention Center and PETCO Park. Relax by the lobby fireplace and rooftop pool, rejuvenate in the fitness center and full-service lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing