We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is the place to stay if going to Petco Park”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Ranked #39 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
No. San Diego County
Level Contributor
137 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“This is the place to stay if going to Petco Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2011

We stayed at the Residence Inn Gaslamp for one night following a Padres game. Very close to the ball park. Got a screaming deal on the room via price line.com. $179 for a queen city view room. Room 1402 (top level) has view of convention center, Coronado, downtown, Point Loma and even the Bay through the buildings. NICE! Has a pullout sofa bed, full size fridge, well equipped kitchenette. Really nice buffet breakfast included...eggs, bacon, sausage, etc...not the typical continental breakfast fare. Pay parking.
Best value for a nice hotel in the gas lamp. There is no room service.

John at the front desk is very helpful!

Room Tip: Request room 1402
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sulphursister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    651
    345
    82
    19
    17
See reviews for
221
286
58
416
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

I've stayed at this hotel twice within the last two years, including the week after it opened for business, and have nothing bad to say. It is updated, modern, and comfortable. The lobby is inviting, and its location in the Gaslamp district provides access to a lot of entertainment and dining options, and Petco Park is a couple of blocks away (San Diego Padres play there, and I recommend seeing this park even to non-sports enthusiasts). Giving this hotel 5 stars is a no-brainer for me. I've also recommended it to friends and colleagues who have all had great experiences. I recommend Richard Walker's for Breakfast (the wait is worth it), and Mickey Rotten's casual fair, and Nobu for dinner. A lot of other options, but these stood out from the rest for me, and both Mickey Rotten's and Nobu are within walking distance from the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rolayna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremerton, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel twice on business. The last night of my stay last week, the power went out in all of San Diego, including the hotel. The entire hotel staff worked tirelessly to meet the needs of hotel customers, all the time with unflagging courtesy. The hotel itself is in a great location for access to the Gaslamp District, the rooms are clean and comfortable. The service of the staff sets this hotel apart, in a good way. The only problem was that the public printers in the hotel lobby were low on toner. I can live with that.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norm T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
107 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

Lovely hotel, great staff, spacious rooms and a fab roof top bar. Breakfast was also amazing. Central location and you can even see baseball games from the roof top bar. Nothing bad to say about the place!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vonbe123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida
Level Contributor
88 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights while traveling with a 2 year old and found that overall it was a good stay.

PROS:
-close to a lot of restaurants and shops by foot, no need to always drive (Horton shopping plaza, Richard Walker pancake house, etc.)
-breakfast included with your stay (waffles, yogurt, fruit, hot food such as scrambled eggs, oatmeal, ham)
-suite units have kitchenette which makes it very handy to store bottled water, snacks, meals, etc.
-clean units
-free WIFI
-non smoking hotel
-close to freeway
-close to PetCo Park


CONS:
-$35 valet parking (although you do get in and out privileges), if you want to park yourself you'll have to park it at some of the other parking lots and walk back to the hotel. Not a big deal but we were there the long weekend and parking was limited
-street noise can be loud at times even though we were on the 11th floor (the occasional suped up car or loud motorcycle could be heard)
-no bathtub (we had a standup shower only and it made it challenging to bathe a 2 year old)

Although the room has sliding doors to separate the living room and washroom. Don't expect 100% privacy. The sliding doors have frosted glass so light and shadows will be seen.

Bed is fair although I do prefer the ones at Hampton Inn. The Queen bed we had was a little too bouncy and soft for my liking. It almost felt like plywood on top of springs.

We would definitely stay here again. The staff were very helpful, friendly and eager to help us.

Room was very clean and we had no issues asking for extra linens. The kitchenette came in real handy since we bought some groceries and were able to bring them back with us.

Note: long weekend in September is very busy around the city. Make preparations in advance to book your hotel. 99% of hotels will be completely sold out for that weekend.

TIP: if you can, pack ear plugs for a more restful sleep due to the street noise.

Room Tip: You may experience less street noise if your room is higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweetee Pie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseburg
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

I traveled to San Diego for a week and was very fortunate to have training in the Gas Lamp District.

The Residence Inn was a perfect hotel, located in the perfect spot. The hotel is one block from Petco Stadium, in the middle of numerous great restaurants, and a short walk to the San Diego Convention Center.

My room was very clean and modern. The kitchenette was stocked with everything a person would need for a meal or storing a snack. I was warned that late night parties in the area may keep a person awake night but this was not the case.

I would recommend this hotel for both families and business travelers alike. A small breakfast was provided in the morning that was a great way to start the day. A restaurant was in the hotel but with so many great venues in the area I went out each night.

Dont hesitate to stay and enjoy the local area from this great hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuckyLaRue3715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

This place was absolutely amazing. I've never met a more friendly staff. The valet were quick and courteous. Daily breakfast is included with your stay and its REAL breakfast. Valet is the only option for parking and its a little pricey ($35) a day. My family and I were there for a month and we had NO complaints!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kllrmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
#18 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter

Property: Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Address: 356 6th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Gaslamp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in San Diego
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#33 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embodies the urban and eclectic styles of the modern-day Gaslamp Quarter. Guests enjoy the residential feel and strong sense of space in a comfortable and progressive setting. Start your day with complimentary hot breakfast, stay connected with complimentary high-speed-internet-access and step out into the vibrancy of downtown. Conveniently located just 2 blocks from the Convention Center and PETCO Park. Relax by the lobby fireplace and rooftop pool, rejuvenate in the fitness center and full-service lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing