We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best extended stay ever!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Ranked #37 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Best extended stay ever!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

This hotel is amazing, our house flooded and this is where we ended up staying. Best choice ever!!! Close to everything in downtown!!! From the moment we arrived everyone was so helpful and courteous (we stayed a month) service was impeccable from housekeeping to the buffet style breakfast, to the valet guys, who were super courteous and always had your car out in no time. So sad to leave it truly was like being at home but in a hotel!!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cosmocrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    651
    345
    82
    19
    17
See reviews for
221
286
58
416
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

The hotel is located in the heart of the Gaslamp District. There are great restaurants and bars within a short walk from the hotel. (There is a great cupcake place called Heavenly Cupcakes that is two blocks away from the hotel.) The hotel is nicely decorated and the rooms are nice. I was staying on the 11th floor and we could still hear the street noise in the evenings. Parking costs $37 per night but you have in and out privileges.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelchyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

After a not so great stay at another property up the road, we were stunned with the amazing service and amenities that Residence had to offer. Sara, the front desk supervisor, and Evan, the bartender and service rep, knew us by name and took great care to ensure we were pleased with every aspect of our stay on a daily basis. Mona, at the front desk, was also very helpful in assisting with directions, places that were close by as well as recommendations for dining. I would recommend staying here to anyone. I have never had a better experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

Terrific new hotel - two blocks from Petco park, about 15 minute walk to Horton Plaza and close to lots of restaurants and shopping. Easy to find and close to airport.

Staff was friendly and helpful. Special kudos to Emily and Ruby for their help arranging a room block for us. Very accommodating.

Would not hesitate to recommend this property - we'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vacationgirl006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Va
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

Awesome hotel.. The staff and accommodations are excellent.. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: The top floors have an excellent city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dmbeland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

We have stayed at Residence Inns in other cities. They were pretty standard as extended stay hotels go. This one however is far and above any other. The rooms are modern, bright, spacious and comfortable. The breakfast is a real breakfast, not "an apple & bagle" kind of breakfast. The food is hot and plentiful, and the staff is VERY courteous. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crmj1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

We had a perfect room in the corner not far from the elevator. We also loved the fact that the room came with pots, plates and silverware. We were there for comic-con, but once we got to our room, we never heard any of the outside noise. The only down fall was the windows in the room don't open if your cooking something. At times the room got smoky and the vent didn't work that great. All in all we would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank studentwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
#18 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter

Property: Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Address: 356 6th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Gaslamp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in San Diego
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#33 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embodies the urban and eclectic styles of the modern-day Gaslamp Quarter. Guests enjoy the residential feel and strong sense of space in a comfortable and progressive setting. Start your day with complimentary hot breakfast, stay connected with complimentary high-speed-internet-access and step out into the vibrancy of downtown. Conveniently located just 2 blocks from the Convention Center and PETCO Park. Relax by the lobby fireplace and rooftop pool, rejuvenate in the fitness center and full-service lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing