We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner Out with a Friend”

Rockin' Baja Coastal Cantina
Reserve with OpenTable
Rockin' Baja Coastal Cantina is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #179 of 4,799 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Ada, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Dinner Out with a Friend”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We really enjoyed the atmosphere! We sat outside in their patio area and we were warmed by the gas lamps they had for you. The service was wonderful and we enjoyed drinks and chips with salsa. We also ordered one steak burrito and one chicken burrito. They were out in just minutes and they were very large. They are hard to finish after all of the chips. The location is easy to find and center to all of the other fun. We enjoyed people watching and even dogs driving their own cars.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shari H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    148
    45
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good location. Great dessert.”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Love the little outdoor patio...perfect for enjoying a sunny afternoon in San Diego. The tequila lime shrimp and guacamole are great ways to start your meal. While I didn't care for 'the bucket that made them famous' that I ordered for my meal, that's OK...because dessert made up for it! I highly recommend the Fried Ice Cream and Cinnamon Apple Bunuelo...de-lish! (And I'm not even a 'dessert person.')

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stacy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilmington,nc
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent for Lunch”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Sit outside and enjoy some great surf & turf tacos. They have a chip and salsa bar with lots of different salsas to choose from, cold beer and fun atmosphere.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank kenasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice Mexican food.”
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Good Mexican fare, helpful staff and the chips and salsa on offer at beginning is a real winner. Worth a go if in SD. I reccomend the mixed fajita skillet it was yum.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JayneyMcIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, WA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“salsa bar is the best part”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

I had a lobster burrito. The seafood was fried and the lobster inside the fried crust was mushy and unrecognizable. Go to the Crab Hut nearby if you want better seafood.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rockin' Baja Coastal Cantina also viewed

 

Been to Rockin' Baja Coastal Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing