We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Some good, some not!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific View Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pacific View Inn
Ranked #180 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Some good, some not!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Yes the location is great, but make no mistake, what is billed as "Oceanfront" is a Tiny, old creepy room with No balcony, much less even a window that opens. Yes you can walk right out and see the sunset from the great boardwalk, but for the price, there are much better places, I would think to stay

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Randipop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    44
    15
    13
    12
See reviews for
23
40
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Pacific View Inn puts you RIGHT on the beach for a reasonable price. If you read the other reviews, you will see this is kind of a no-frills place. But the basics are covered. There are only like 11 or 12 rooms, and each apparently is a bit different (see their website). Ours had a little kitchenette with nice sink, refrigerator, and microwave. There is a small continental breakfast available starting at 7 a.m. We did fine, and absolutely loved being right on the ocean. The people who run the place are extremely friendly and helpful.

If you know San Diego, you know parking is always an issue everywhere - especially by the ocean. Pacific View Inn has 7 of their own parking spaces. You can now reserve one for $20/day (reasonable). Otherwise, they will assist you in parking. We reserved, and it worked perfectly. They monitor the spaces and you are very unlikely to find your spot stolen.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RJay4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

This was our first visit to California. The staff made us feel welcome and were VERY helpful. It's not a fancy hotel, but it fit our needs and was on the beach. The walls are a bit thin and the last evening we had some loud talkers, but there was a fan in the room and we turned it on high to block the noise.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

First off, staff is amazing! The staff went above and beyond for anything every time. Minutes from the ocean, just have to walk to the staircase to get down to beach. We fought for parking everyday, but it was kinda fun cause the staff helped us out. Minutes from beer, burgers, pasta, sushi, Starbucks, the list goes on and on. For the money we paid, this place is a gem. The question my family asks is, do we pay 80-100$ more a night for a hotel with full maid service and air conditioning and an iron and a blow dryer. These things are minor. But when you don't have them, they get appreciated. Our only complaint would be when I posted maid service via my door, to happen while we were gone. Got back to the room to see our room was vacuumed and filled with towels. Theo two full beds had not been touched and no sheets got changed. Being, we are vacationing on a beach, clean sandfree sheets would have been awesome. All in all I give 5 stars for environment and location. You can not get any closer with no traffic, just awesome SD peps around. We have a 3 year old And this was perfect for her and us. We will be back. The staff is really the pain reason.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I stayed here the week of Christmas and fell in love with this boutique spot. Being from Wisconsin and having a record snow and cold winter, I returned 6 weeks later for another 7 days. The staff are wonderful, most rooms remodeled and all very clean. Nearby eats include Oscars for the fishermans torta, PB Brewhouse for lobster macaroni and cheese and the laundry mat and liquor store on the corner are clean and safe. The sound of waves crashing put me to sleep and awoke me daily. Wonderful people watching, surfers and a view of famous LaJolla cliffs. I plan another week over the Fourth of July and hoping to move to sunny PB in the next year. Thanks to everyone and you are my new home away from home !! Kelly

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly Marsh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

If you're looking for a great location but don't mind a motel style room, this is the place to stay! The rooms could use a little updating, but with such a great location, you won't be spending much time in the room anyway. You are within walking distance to some great restaurants and steps from the beach. Very reasonably priced. I would stay again in a heartbeat, just hoping for availability when traveling to the area.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Captainsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukwonago, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

The location is perfect. Imagine waking up in the morning, taking a few steps and being right on the beach. Many restaurants and pubs within walking distance. Seaworld and downtown an easy drive. Depending on the stay, there can be a younger crowd, but overall, great area. The rooms can be tight for a family (we had 2 adults and 2 children 13/11). Rooms a bit dated and slightly musty, but considering the abuse (sand and moisture) that can be tracked in, they keep them clean. Walls a bit thin; we had someone pounding on our wall 9:00pm and were simply talking in normal voices. Luckily he left the next morning. Coffee and bagels avail in the morning. Friendly staff, but they're not there all night. No issues with some of the homeless. Would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: Call ahead to reserve a parking space. If your room is close to the ocean front, you'll be able...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thoz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Diamond Head Inn
Diamond Head Inn
#230 of 281 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 161 reviews
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven Inn
Beach Haven Inn
#125 of 281 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 184 reviews
Surfer Beach Hotel
#103 of 281 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Shores Inn
Pacific Shores Inn
#212 of 281 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 410 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#32 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 927 reviews
PB Surf Beachside Inn
#140 of 281 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific View Inn

Property: Pacific View Inn
Address: 610 Emerald St., San Diego, CA
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Pacific View Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Pacific View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific View Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing