We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool place but won't go during summer”
Review of Pacific View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pacific View Inn
Ranked #172 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cool place but won't go during summer”
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

First off, staff is amazing! The staff went above and beyond for anything every time. Minutes from the ocean, just have to walk to the staircase to get down to beach. We fought for parking everyday, but it was kinda fun cause the staff helped us out. Minutes from beer, burgers, pasta, sushi, Starbucks, the list goes on and on. For the money we paid, this place is a gem. The question my family asks is, do we pay 80-100$ more a night for a hotel with full maid service and air conditioning and an iron and a blow dryer. These things are minor. But when you don't have them, they get appreciated. Our only complaint would be when I posted maid service via my door, to happen while we were gone. Got back to the room to see our room was vacuumed and filled with towels. Theo two full beds had not been touched and no sheets got changed. Being, we are vacationing on a beach, clean sandfree sheets would have been awesome. All in all I give 5 stars for environment and location. You can not get any closer with no traffic, just awesome SD peps around. We have a 3 year old And this was perfect for her and us. We will be back. The staff is really the pain reason.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    55
    18
    14
    14
See reviews for
30
55
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I stayed here the week of Christmas and fell in love with this boutique spot. Being from Wisconsin and having a record snow and cold winter, I returned 6 weeks later for another 7 days. The staff are wonderful, most rooms remodeled and all very clean. Nearby eats include Oscars for the fishermans torta, PB Brewhouse for lobster macaroni and cheese and the laundry mat and liquor store on the corner are clean and safe. The sound of waves crashing put me to sleep and awoke me daily. Wonderful people watching, surfers and a view of famous LaJolla cliffs. I plan another week over the Fourth of July and hoping to move to sunny PB in the next year. Thanks to everyone and you are my new home away from home !! Kelly

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly Marsh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

If you're looking for a great location but don't mind a motel style room, this is the place to stay! The rooms could use a little updating, but with such a great location, you won't be spending much time in the room anyway. You are within walking distance to some great restaurants and steps from the beach. Very reasonably priced. I would stay again in a heartbeat, just hoping for availability when traveling to the area.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Captainsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukwonago, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

The location is perfect. Imagine waking up in the morning, taking a few steps and being right on the beach. Many restaurants and pubs within walking distance. Seaworld and downtown an easy drive. Depending on the stay, there can be a younger crowd, but overall, great area. The rooms can be tight for a family (we had 2 adults and 2 children 13/11). Rooms a bit dated and slightly musty, but considering the abuse (sand and moisture) that can be tracked in, they keep them clean. Walls a bit thin; we had someone pounding on our wall 9:00pm and were simply talking in normal voices. Luckily he left the next morning. Coffee and bagels avail in the morning. Friendly staff, but they're not there all night. No issues with some of the homeless. Would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: Call ahead to reserve a parking space. If your room is close to the ocean front, you'll be able...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thoz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Not much to add - I stayed here for 2 nights in January 2014. The service was excellent and friendly. The room was nice and large (studio apartment sized, not hotel room sized) with a kitchen. I had a patio-ish area with views directly onto the beach. Very quiet. Location next to bike rentals, restaurants and the Garnet bar area.

I have stayed at several of the motel-ish hotels down at the beach in PB, and this is as nice as any of them, with particularly great service.

Room Tip: There are rooms with inside hallways, but ask for one with an outside hallway/ie. patio area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank odziggel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2014

The location was amazing! Staff was helpful and resourceful. The Pacific View Inn is so well kept, maintained and aesthetically pleasing. Such a comfortable place! I cannot wait to go back again for a longer time. The surrounding area is fun and diverse as well

Room Tip: Nice outside areas, small but cozy room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NayNay_Carlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury Park, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

On a recent visit to San Diego to visit our son during a school break (UCSD) we discovered the Pacific View Inn. the Inn is really a lovely little jewel located on the boardwalk just blocks away from the Crystal Cove Pier and within walking distance from many fine eating and imbibbing establishments. While the Inn is remenisent of a typical Southern California beach Motel from the 60's our room was anything but having been recently renovated with updated finishes, flat screen TV and a super comfortable bed. It was really easy to book online and the staff especially Jason were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Our room on the north side facing the ocean was cool and quiet with a spectactular view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michaelmcguirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Diamond Head Inn
Diamond Head Inn
#223 of 278 in San Diego
174 reviews
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven
Beach Haven
#126 of 278 in San Diego
212 reviews
Pacific Beach
Surfer Beach Hotel
Surfer Beach Hotel
#97 of 278 in San Diego
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Shores Inn
Pacific Shores Inn
#208 of 278 in San Diego
444 reviews
PB Surf Beachside Inn
#164 of 278 in San Diego
331 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#28 of 278 in San Diego
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific View Inn

Property: Pacific View Inn
Address: 610 Emerald Street, San Diego, CA 92109
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Pacific View Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Pacific View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific View Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing