We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A San Diego Landmark”

Botanical Building and Lily Pond
Book In Advance
More Info
$48.00*
and up
San Diego Shore Excursion: City and La Jolla Coast Tour
More Info
$149.00*
and up
Private Tour: Balboa Park in San Diego
More Info
$499.00*
and up
Private San Diego City and La Jolla Coast Tour
Ranked #24 of 438 things to do in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Over 1,200 tropical and flowering varieties of plants are to be found beneath the domed, wooden-lath structure of the Botanical Building.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A San Diego Landmark”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Any time someone visits this city, it's almost certain that they shoot a picture of themselves with this in the background. And it makes sense because it's a great background for a picture.

What's inside is just as cool!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank bagheera05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    566
    219
    80
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Orchids - very nice display”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The Botanical Building was very lovely. Not too big at all and some nice photos can be taken. I was a little disappointed with the Herb Garden or more scented herb garden. Most were scented Geraniums. If I lived closer - I would volunteer and bring my herbs to the area. All in all - great morning and afternoon stroll in the park.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank duranie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to visit”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

I've enjoyed my visits to the botanical building and lily pond each time I've visited San Diego. There is always a nice variety of plants on display from orchids to poinsettias (depending upon the season).

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington, United States
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wow- Beautiful, Peaceful Setting”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

This is a must see at Balboa Park. Go early in the morning- they open at 10- and don't visit on Thursdays- they are closed. Wonderful specimens of tropical plants in a peaceful setting. Bring your camera!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GuyDonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Mother's Day/Birthday 2014”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

On our last day in the San Diego area, my husband and I came here as a Mother's Day/Birthday activity. We are from Minneapolis/St. Paul and have spent some time in the Como Park Conservatory which is larger. We were just a bit disappointed that it was so small in comparison.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PamelaH3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Botanical Building and Lily Pond also viewed

 

Been to Botanical Building and Lily Pond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing