We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice”

Botanical Building and Lily Pond
Book In Advance
More Info
$149.00*
and up
Private Tour: Balboa Park in San Diego
Ranked #26 of 427 things to do in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Over 1,200 tropical and flowering varieties of plants are to be found beneath the domed, wooden-lath structure of the Botanical Building.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The outside of the building is beautiful. The inside was OK. Lots of green plants. Not too many flowers though. There were suppose to be butterflies but I didn't see any. The lily pond out front only had a couple lily pads in it but it was still very picturesque and serene. Good photo ops there.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank shelli0502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    544
    208
    77
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milpitas, California
Level Contributor
222 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Just a beautiful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We came here after seeing the museum of man so it was nice to see some living things. I loved all the different plants and some of the carnivorous ones were very interesting. We spent some time at the Orchid display taking in all the different kinds there are, some of which I'd never seen. Overall it was a nice peaceful place to get away from the throngs of people.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank kguzzetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Unusual building with changing exhibits.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I've been here in December when the poinsettias looked stunning. Due to the diffused lighting coming through the wooden slats the orchids they had on display were wonderful.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Judith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“delightful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

A visit to the Botanical Garden with its lily ponds is always a treat. On our last trip it was full of glorious orchids. What a sight!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Goddesstoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
165 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“For a short stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

It is not the best garden in the world but it is for free so have a look when you are nearby. The most interesting were the fly eating plants.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Botanical Building and Lily Pond also viewed

 

Been to Botanical Building and Lily Pond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing