We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed”

Giant Dipper Roller Coaster
Book In Advance
More Info
$90.00*
and up
Private San Diego Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #142 of 435 things to do in San Diego
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A vintage roller coaster with more than 2,600 feet of track and 13 hills.
San Diego
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We took our grandkids to Belmont Park to enjoy a ride on the big dipper. What a disappointment. They willingly took our money but only gave the kids half of a ride. We were watching and expecting them to ride the entire track but no such luck.
They rode a couple of other rides, which were extremely short, considering the price of the tickets.
This is not something we will try again nor recommend to others.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    24
    7
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
san diego
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
115 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A piece of history”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

It is so cool this was saved, it is a blast from the past among tackty t shirt shops and bad henna.

Helpful?
Thank airbrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“have a kid, must go”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

a step back in time, the roller coaster is well - maintained and the whole experience is 'americana'

Helpful?
1 Thank Jdicarlowagner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Fun!”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

My kids loved this roller coaster. It's a little pricey, but a fun experience.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Hills
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Love the nostalgia!”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

I used to go to Belmont Park as a kid and I have such great memories of that roller coaster. Being on it again was so fun, it is just like it was when I was a kid!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank robin1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giant Dipper Roller Coaster also viewed

 

Been to Giant Dipper Roller Coaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing