We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“airplanes up close”

San Diego Air & Space Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$39.95*
and up
San Diego Tour: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley
Ranked #38 of 434 things to do in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Museum's emphasis is on the history of flight, from the days of hot-air balloons to the Spirit of St. Louis to today's space shuttles.
Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina, United States
1 review
“airplanes up close”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

So many airplanes of shapes, sizes and vintage. Excellent displays and presentations! Options to spend time in a simulator available for the brave at heart. We did not have time to view the "How things fly" exhibit but other viewers remarked that it was very informative.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    246
    73
    15
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Plenty to see and play with!”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We were most impressed with the Air & Space Museum. We paid a slightly higher price but included the 'How things Fly' exhibition. This was very informative and I really enjoyed having a go on the helicopter simulator - what I liked even more was that the museum was very quiet and therefore I spent plenty of time on the simulator without being rushed off.

Overall there are many exhibits to see and we spent a good two hours in the museum but you could easily spend more.

I would, without hesitation, recommend this attraction to visitors to Balboa Park.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mark_Jonesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
148 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Way better than expected”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I'm an airplane guy and visit air museums whenever I am close, but this is a really special museum. Very friendly and informed staff (many volunteers). Several really unique airplanes, including the A-12 CIA plane (Blackbird). The docent actually worked in the program back in the day and was fascinating to listen to. My buddy was not an airplane nut like me, and he loved it too. Don't miss this place if you visit San Diego.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank parfourrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

This is a small museum and is mostly air rather then space based. The how things fly exhibition was a little basic and we found all the screens really noisy contrasting with each other. The helicopter simulator didn't seem to work. The 4d theatre was very dated but kids would prob find the shows fun - just. However the Apollo 9 module is amazing to see close up and worth the entry fee for this alone.

Helpful?
Thank 186299Richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“This museum is a great find in a Navy town!”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

The San Diego Air & Space Museum at Balboa Park is among my favorites in the country. This museum has great permanent attractions and also a fine selection of rotating exhibits and guest lecturers and authors. You will find similar exhibits at science museums in other large cities, but there is a local advantage that San Diego is a Naval & Air town. That makes this museum a magnet for visitng NASA astronauts and military historians. (I'm a Moon Shot buff!) Visit the Gift Shop for an exceptional selection of autobiographies and published histories signed by men who have footprints on the Moon or have broken the sound barrier. Or, even built those spacecraft that made these feats possible. At the very least, it's a great place to take the kids for a little sneaky education while you also walk through the gorgeous Balboa Park.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank AHSwift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Diego Air & Space Museum also viewed

 

Been to San Diego Air & Space Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing