We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal I had in San Diego”
Review of The Mission

The Mission
Ranked #62 of 4,768 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best meal I had in San Diego”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

At the time I was searching through tripadvisor to try and find the highest spots in town, this was ranked #1. After a tough time convincing the group I was with to give this place a try we finally got to go.

It was absolutely delicious. I ordered the roast beef hash and a side of the cinnamon french toast. It was by far the best french toast I've ever had.

Half of our group liked it so much they went back the next day. I was tempted to go back myself.. but I have a rule of never going to the same place twice when travelling, but in reality, this place was worth breaking that promise for, and I wish I went back!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Torki A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    83
    13
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
pebble beach
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“good healthy flavorful food”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

we walked from fourpoint shereton to this restaurant yes it was a bit of a hike but definitley doable.This restaurant is on a backstreet of petco park kind of industrial area but it looks like ur grandmas house on the outside and eclectic on the inside something you would see in Santa Cruz or Haight Ashbury the food was yummy the staff great they serve beer from a local brewery.I will recommend this restaurant. Dont worry there is nothing too spicy or too big or too salty no clog artery food here.There is a yoga place above this restaurant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank belarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast spot”
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

Good food... Recommend the French toast with Bacon! Parking was the only issue, but there are a couple of pay lots near the restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank JDT82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Coffee was great! Food delicious. Service excelent. The only slight pronlem is that it is loud inside but worth it for the yummy food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank patrickim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
314 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Good, not great”
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

I came to the mission with high hopes. As a lifelong fan of Mexican breakfasts I dove into the huevos rancheros expecting to be blown away, but I wasn't. Don't get me wrong, it wasn't bad, but it wasn't anything to write home about. Maybe I should have gone with pancakes or something...

Helpful?
Thank jgiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mission also viewed

 

Been to The Mission? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing