We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Breakfast in the East Village” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mission

The Mission
Ranked #59 of 4,538 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tumon, Mariana Islands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent Breakfast in the East Village”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The Mission is a classy, funky little breakfast and lunch spot in the East Village. It is an easy walk from most points in the Downtown area, the Gaslamp District, Petco ballpark, or even the waterfront. The new San Diego library is under construction just steps away from the Mission, which should add an extra bit of panache to what appears to be a neighborhood on the upswing.

The Mission has a great mix of breakfast choices--pancakes, the aforementioned rosemary potatoes, a number of what they call "Latino Favorites," and a variety of coffee and smoothie drinks, The house coffee roast is excellent; if you like your coffee black, it is extremely tasty. I had the chilaquiles, which was well-balanced, flavoful, not too heavy, and had just the right amount of zing with the aid of a little hot sauce. Their orange juice is also fresh--something I miss not having out in the Western Pacific.

Service is attentive, friendly, and not intrusive--allowing you to enjoy breakfast at your own pace.

The Mission opens up at 7. Before 8 or so, it is not too busy and fairly laid back. On a weekday, I left a little after 8 and the restaurant was starting to fill up. I can only image the lines later in the mornings on the weekends, or before/after a Padres game.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    77
    13
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethlehem
Level Contributor
186 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great place to eat !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I was looking for a nice breakfast place and found The Mission restaurant. We had a most enjoyable breakfast. The selections available were great with the' rosemary potatoes ' being my favorite.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 860Vetman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great place for breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I read other reviews on this place and I was not disappointed. Had the soy chorizo quesadilla, it was tasty. Really wanted to get the cornmeal pancakes but I guess will have to go back the next time I'm in town.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cudiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“It's all about Rosemary Potatoes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I stopped in for Breakfast during a recent visit to San Diego. The plates are all huge and fairly cheap. We ordered the Mission Rosemary and the Beef hash and eggs. Both dishes were similar and served with their signature Rosemary potatoes and Grilled Rosemary Bread. The potatoes taste like they are double fried with lots of love. Crispy and delicious. We also ordered Naked pancakes to share which although probably excessive was definitely a nice touch. Also, probably the best cup of coffee I had while in San Diego.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Clubcoco1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“fabulous breakfast, good prices and friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

we stumbled upon this little gem and were very happy with it. the food was fabulous and the service was great. they have a good deal of variety on their menu and have several gluten free options.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank meg d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mission also viewed

 
San Diego, CA
 

Been to The Mission? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing